Swiss Potatoes Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Very nice recipe, I added garlic and omited the nutmeg(just a personal preference) The heavy cream can be substituted with half& half. Lots of variety with choice of cheese, go for it and thanks for a nice side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Nice light version of the usual gratin. It is a little bland, next time I will add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The texture of these potatoes was absolutely perfect. However, because I didn't have gruyere cheese, and tried to sub-in other types, it turned out a little bland. My boyfriend thought they were fantastic, though next time I'll use stronger flavored cheese. Also, I reduced the amount of Parsley the recipe called for and it still seemed overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambastio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I usually don't like Potatoes Gratin, but I loved the flavor of these with the Gruyere Cheese! Definitely don't sub any other cheese. I added lots of spices in with the ricotta (1 T each of salt, parsley, oregano, and a little pepper) & it was very good. The potatoes were perfectly cooked. I wish I would have mixed the egg in with the Ricotta b/c when I mixed it with the cream & poured it on top, the eggs sort-of rested on the top & looked weird. Also, I did not peel my potatoes. Excellent new side dish to add to my recipes! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I found this recipe with "ingredient search" since I have 1 cup ricotta...after reading reviews, I added sauteed onion and garlic to the ricotta, and fresh Italian parsley and oregano. Thanks for the original recipe; I wouldn't have thought of gratin potatoes to "use up" my ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made this recipe with onions, garlic, and cheddar cheese and thought it was pretty good. I had an oops moment and added the ricotta to the cream and it came out not very cheesy. I think I would make this again, but just make a cheese sauce with the same ingredients instead of just throwing it together in layers. Overall not bad. Oh, and when I was a kid, my mom added ham to au gratin potatoes, which is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally_hindal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I should have read the other review and added garlic. . .or something. The texture was nice, but there was no flavor to these--very bland. Needs something to kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very dry, with dotted ricotta mix staying in blobs. This recipe needs a cheese sauce poured over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I wanted to like this so badly. It was very time consuming to make and the ingredients were rather pricey. I was also trying to overlook how unhealthy they are, but when we tasted them, it was not worth it at all. The ricotta was just wierd in there and there was not much flavor (and I even threw in extra seasoning based on other reviews). We did eat them with dinner but threw the rest away. Usually when I try a new recipe that I am very excited about and it does't turn out like I want, I 'tweak' it until it works. Not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States