Swiss Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I'm not sure why this is called Swiss Potato Soup since it uses cheddar. I used swiss cheese and it's amazing that way! I used chicken stock instead of boullion and tossed in a little cooked crumbled bacon that I had on hand. This way I only had to add a pinch of salt. The thickness is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amazon3Runner
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Loved this. Definitely added more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
After reading other reviews, I increased to 1/2 medium onion, 3 cups potatoes, and substituted 1 can chicken broth & 1 bouillon cube (instead of 1 c water & 3 bouillon cubes). Also added 2 c frozen corn. This hit the spot on a cold Nebraska day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I am going to try this tonight but thought it would call for swiss cheese since the name is Swiss Potato Soup???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very very good flavor in this soup. I added 3 cups of potatoes, but sure wished I'd used another 2. I only added about 1/8 tsp black pepper to the soup before I served it. I'd give this 5 stars if I didn't think it needed double the potatoes called for. As it is though, it wouldn't feed 4 people, as it only fed 2 here. My son had seconds (he's a growing teen). Definitely a keeper. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Super delish!!! Like other reviewers, I added more potatoes. I used almost 4 cups. This was really quick and didn't call for lots of ingredients. It has a wonderful taste...two of my children (6 yr old and 3 yr old) insisted on having a serving right away! I can't wait for hubby to come home for dinner! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Two cups of potatoes are not enough.. I ended up using three medium size potatoes. I didn't think the soup was thick enough so next time I'll use a little more flour. As for taste... This is a five star soup. I ate three bowls of soup and skipped the rest of my lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I replaced the water with chicken stock, omitted the boullion and used more potatoes. All in all, a very delicious and satisfying soup. Thanks so much Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
My husband loves this soup! He likes a little more onion though, and chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This was great; quick, cheep and very tasty! I have nine chilren and all but one loved it. The one that didn't doesn't like potatos, so I wasn't surprised. :) Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States