Swiss Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This recipe was delicioso! I think I ate more than my share because it only served my family of 4, no left-overs. The plates were so clean I just put them away without having to wash them. Just kidding. Thank you for sharing this LOSTUTTLES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Excellent! If you are looking for a more authentic enchilada suiza, and not some gloppy canned soup mess, try this recipe. My husband could not stop raving about them...said they were better than any he had in restaurants. I added the whole can of chili's,and also added about 1/2 pack of cream cheese to the mixture, just because I had it. Would be excellent with seafood too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was delicious. I only used 1 cup of the cream which was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Wow-- these are fabulous! My boyfriend devoured them, saying they were the best enchiladas he'd ever had. I liked the idea of adding cream cheese (as if it needed more fat!), so I included some in the chicken mixture. I also threw in some thawed, chopped spinach. And instead of jack cheese I used Swiss. I also reduced the amount of cream by nearly half, and it was enough. Everything worked wonderfully and I will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very good!! I loved the cream with the enchiladas-I've never had them like this. I'm thinking of doing seafood like this instead of the chicken. My ten year old loved these. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was Great! We were kind of chickened out this week so I just did cheese. I only had red salsa, I sprinkled it with black olives near the end and served with shredded lettuce, tomatoes, sliced avacado,hot sauce, and sour cream. YUMMMMM My 10 and 11 yr old had 3rds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
First time trying this recipe today and it was a hit with me, my husband, and 22 month old! I used the advice of another on the reviews and just used one cup of cream, which was perfect. Also, I had my husband grill the chicken the night before and just heated it up in a skillet with the salsa and chiles. Worked out great and we will definately have them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is fabulous!!! I did change it a bit, and will probably change it more the next time I make it. I added 4oz cream cheese, nuked it to make it soft, then added the cream, salt and pepper. I also added spinach to the chicken mixture. Next time I will add additional veggies to the chicken mixture - this is a ton of calories, so I need to disguise some veggies for my family! Maybe some corn, bell pepper, and tomatoes. I used regular salsa (Kroger Premium Selection Restaurant Style - my FAVE!) and 2 4oz cans of green chiles, and used a rotisserie chicken bought at the grocery store, cut up. (I was not about to cook chicken when I had worked all day!) I used flour tortillas because I don't care for corn, and didn't fry them - I loved the texture of the flour tortillas, it was soft but where the cheese melted was crispy and bubbly! I also used 8oz of Jack cheese, who needs a little bit left over, it goes bad! ;) Overall this is fabulous, definitely the best enchiladas I've had! Thank you for sharing, it will definitely be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Made these last night and they turned out great! I too, only used half the amount of cream called for, and it was plenty. I also let it bake for the 20 minutes, then kicked it up to broil for another minute or two to get the cheese a little crunchy! We had this with the Mexican Rice III also found on this site & it was a great side dish. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
My husband and son loved these enchiladas. I thought they were just okay. I think it was my fault though, because I tried those new "whole grain" tortillas and they tasted weird to me. Next time will just use the good old fashioned tortillas, for EVERY enchilada recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States