Swiss Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
It looks like I'm one of the few, if not the only one, who prepared this recipe as written. No add ins, no changes in amounts, no substitutions. And I DID use the full 2 cups of cream, which was just perfect. Having said that, I believe this is a good, 3-star recipe, which in my book means average--not bad, but not extraordinarily good either. This was surprisingly nondescript, both in color and flavor. Some might describe it as bland, hubby said it "needed something." Even using the entire can of green chilies would have given this a flavor punch, and you might want to kick it up with maybe cumin, jalapeno, or hot sauce. Nevertheless, this made for an enjoyable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I used half the whipping cream, and mixed in 4 oz. of cream cheese to dip the tortillas in. It was amazing! Next time I'll double that mix (two cups whipping cream with 8 oz. of cream cheese) and put some on the inside with the chicken. I made these enchiladas with the Fiesta Cheese Rice from this site. Delicious! Boyfriend said it was a keeper right off the bat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I loved this recipe!! I did add 1 pckg thawed spinach, and subed the chilies for tomatoes with chilies and added cream cheese, about 4oz. AMAZING. By the way, thanks "Captain Obvious" to the person who complained about the fat and calories. Duhhhh, it's not listed under the healthy cooking section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe was truly mouth-watering. My husband loved it too. I added a little cream cheese to the enchilada filling and also grated some fresh pepper-jack cheese in addition to the monterrey-jack. Delicous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
The family loved it. I made some changes to the recipe. Added cheese to the chicken mixture. Used flour tortillas instead of corn. Added 1/4 cup brown sugar to whipping cream mixture. Wonderful!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRSTLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I followed others advice and used less cream. I cut it down to 1-1/2 cups but wish I would have used only 1 cup. It was still a little soupy but really great flavor. A wonderful way to used Thanksgiving's left over turkey. I had a recipe very similar to this many many years ago that called for two chicken bouillon cubes crushed and mixed into the cream so I did that rather than add salt, same effect I'm sure. Good eating !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
My family thought these were very good! I cut the cream down to about 1.5 cups, and added some cilantro to the chicken, but otherwise followed the recipe as is. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I followed the original recipe and I thought it was a little bland. Don't get me wrong, the dish was good but next time I'll add granulated garlic and maybe some onion powder. I'll definitely use FRESH long green chile. I might garnish with fresh chopped cilantro. To roast chilies at home: Place chilies on a hot grill or in your ovens broiler. Be sure to rotate the chilies to allow the skin to blacken and blister all around. Place chilies in a large zip lock, then wrap the bag of chilies in a clean kitchen towel(the steam will loosen the skin). After the chilies have cooled to room temp peel the skin off and discard (the skin). Cut chilies into long strips or dice them up. ***You can freeze any unused chilies for future use.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Don't know what all the fuss is about the recipe. It is very bland. I cut back on the cream and thank goodness, because the texture was all ready too mushy. I had leftover stuffing and used it to make nachos. Go with the nachos, less fuss and tastes better with all the nacho trimmings (cheese, avocado, sour cream, salas, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I have ate this exact recipe since I was a kid. Although we don't add salt to our recipe. It is absolutley one of my favorites. We always use the left over turkey from thanksgiving. Try it you will love it.!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States