Swiss Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
A GREAT recipe if you'r willing to spice it up a little with your own stuff. I have not tasted a better enchilada! I doubled the recipe put 2 chopped onions and garlic in to cook with the chicken and spiced it to my desires. Then I put 8 oz of cream cheese in with the sauce and a tad of coconut cream (I know random but it worked). I would recommend doing your own chilis too, it just makes it taste TWICE as good! Chilis: slice and fry them till black and soft (perhaps with a little water) then put them in a large ziplock bag and wrap in a cloth about 15 min. Take out and peel off the skin and presto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaronbdavis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I didn't have the chilies, but I used a can of medium hot green salsa and added a few sprinkles of cumin and some minced garlic to the chicken. Put it together as instructed, and used Swiss cheese. I did add a little (1 T) brown sugar to the whipping cream, as another reviewer had done. This dish was so good! These were the best enchiladas I have ever eaten- they were wonderful. Ialso served this with the Cheesy Fiesta Rice from this website. Wonderful meal. Who cares if it has enough fat grams to last a week?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterlington, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I was not impressed with these at all. They need more kick in my opinion. I think I'll stick with Whit's Chicken Enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was a great recipe for my family and I. Thank you for putting it in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I used marinated fajita meat instead of chicken, and finished off the top with cream cheese. One of the better dishes I have made !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMEITL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was fantastic! I will definately make it again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Wonderful! I made this as is - but added 3 oz of cream cheese, 1 sauted bell pepper & 2 cloves of garlic to the chicken mix. I also used the entire jar of green chilies and 2 cups of cheese. It was so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I have made a similar version for years and is a family favorite. Leave out the chilie salsa, but add 1 6oz can of tomatoe paste. I use milk not cream and add 6 chicken bullion cubes. You can use swiss cheese on top (where the name came from). There is no heat to this recipe, but we love it anyway and we are a family that loves hot spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I recently made these enchiladas and they turned out wonderful! Like someone suggested, I also added some cream cheese to the filling and the whole can of chilies along with some jalapenos. I used almost all of the whipped cream that the recipe called for and let it bake a lot longer which worked out perfect because it allowed the sauce to evaporate. I added some more jalapeno and some green onions on top of the enchiladas for some more color. They were a little soggy but the the flavor was so great it didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
So Good! I have made enchiladas with a white sauce before, but these are so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlssbarbre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States