Swiss Cheesy Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
If it's too bland, throw some dry mustard in with the flour at the beginning and sprinkle some paprika on top after baking. My kids ate this, so it automatically gets a higer mark from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I too must agree that the sauce alone was a bit bland. Don't know what the first reviewer meant about the dish not needing the milk and flour. That's how you start any cheese sauce. Anyway, I added garlic and onion powders and black pepper and it was still rather uninteresting so I thought about what it is that makes fondue so tasty. In my opinion it's the wine. With that addition it turned out nicely. Thanks Brenda for a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Just like my nan used to make, although i did add salt and more cheese and a bit of mustard to the sauce, and extra cheese on top, cause i love cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgend, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I followed some of the advice of the other reviewers and used a little white wine. 1 1/2 c. milk and 1/2 c. white wine. I didn't add extra salt as I didn't want it too salty. I'll update how it was after we try it with dinner. EDITED: My family inhaled it, even my cauliflower-hating husband. It's a little bland, I might add some dry mustard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Bland on it's own, but I added a bit of pepper, cayenne, mustard, and nutmeg and that turned it into a winner. It is saucy though and I might cut the sauce down by half next time. A nice warm comfort food for winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I bring this to my family gatherings and everyone loves it...even if they aren't a fan of cauliflower to begin with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this to take to a cookout and it was great without any changes. I'm also adding this recipe to my holiday dinner this year as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Pretty good, made a LOT of sauce, but I didn't mind - I served this with fresh snow peas and the sauce was great on the peas. I might even add snow peas to this recipe next time. I did add a bit of mustard to the sauce - adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I found this to be very bland and I even added diced onions, Worcestershire sauce and mustard! It didn't seem to need the flour and milk as this took away from the cheesiness. Sorry, this one is just not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States