Swiss Cheese Scramble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Do, I'm torn on how to rate this. I think it was "ok", but Mr. LTH deemed it "gross" and didn't even finish his (and I don't think that's ever happened before with anything I've ever made). The bread gives it a bit of a weird texture and it's underwhelming in flavor. I'm perplexed, though, because the reviews are glowing; I can't think of anything I did/didn't do that would change/alter the flavor. Different strokes for different folks, I guess, so perhaps this will work for YOU. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is just an awesome recipe. I made 2 days ahead and it was fine. Couple of tips....recipe calls for 16 oz of swiss. I used 6 oz and it was plenty. Also, double the bread as suggested by others. I covered with foil while baking. Finally, next time I make I will definitely cut way back on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Awesome! I have never had to pass out so many recipies. I added two cups of bread cubes, for the same reason some have stated before and I added my secret scrambled egg ingredient...two tablespoons of whatever mustard you like. It doesn't taste mustardy at all but give the eggs such a depth of flavor! Its good reheated too. Love this and my boys are already begging for me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was really light and custardy and had alot of flavor from the bacon. I cooked the bacon in the microwave oven and instead of scrambling the eggs in butter, I used a little of the bacon grease. I used half and half too. I prepared this the night before for company and they really enjoyed it with some fresh melon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Good flavour, but too much work if you follow the instructions. I did enjoy the Swiss cheese as a change from Cheddar in most of the night-before breakfast recipes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
we are very disappointed with this recipe. i wanted to use up some swiss cheese i had on hand and thought this would be a nice change for a dinner. first, it took much, much longer to prepare than stated and i even had my husband helping me. second, it called for too much cheese. maybe half the amount and change the type to mozzarella and it would be better? third, the bread crumbs on top made for a strange texture. all in all, it was edible. and i'm very disappointed since the ingredients aren't exactly cheap. all the 5 star ratings were very misleading on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I wanted to serve this to a group of 40 people so I tried it out first for a small brunch. Everyone really liked it but thought a little kick would make it even more delicious. I will serve Tabasco on the side. I also added a little more bread, less cheese and added green onions. I am also going to do a sausage one for the group I'm serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
mmmmmmmm, how could something with all these luscious ingredients not come out tasting anything but yummy? i factored this recipe down to a third & ended up with a perfect brunch for two. an additional treat was being able to prepare this dish the night before. a quick minute under the broiler gave the bread crumb topping additional color & crunch. many thanks jeanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This was the best! I used 2 cups of bread cubes - 1 did not seem enough. I also used phony bacon, and half the cheese. Everyone loved it for brunch. This is a easy one and a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States