Swiss Cheese Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lauraellen225
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Wonderful! I had leftover Boursin cheese from Christmas, so I subbed that for cream cheese but otherwise followed the recipe (oh, except used jack cheese instead of swiss). turned out lovely. Be sure to use a slotted spoon and let your potatoes "drain" a bit before putting in frying pan. If you like them crispy be sure to spread them out in the pan cook at least 3 minutes a side. I fried an egg and topped the pancake with that and a lovely cream reduction sauce, some cubed ham and green onions. HUGE hit at the breakfast table this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Took these to a potluck dinner party. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These turned out really good. I love the cream cheese idea in the mix. That really makes a difference in the texture and taste. I will make this again. Next time I will add more seasonings. Only because I like over seasoned food, especially fried foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I used 3 cups of shredded potatoes, green onions, cheddar cheese and omitted the cream cheese as i used a generous amount of cheddar cheese. FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was the second half of my St. Patrick's Day meal - along with the Reuben Sandwich II from this website. We really liked this recipe. I had never had nor made potato pancakes before. This is very easy to put together and we really enjoyed the flavors. I had purple onion so that is what I used. When I make these again, I will go a little heavier on the cayenne pepper. I cooked on the griddle so I could make them all at once. These also warmed up nicely the next day for lunch. Thanks Ferne for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These were tasty, though I was hoping for a bit more in the flavor department. I halved the recipe just to try them and used refrigerated hash browns in place of fresh. I couldn't taste the swiss as much as I wanted to, and I used more than called for. I think I would still make these again, but adjust for more spice, add more cheese and onion. They were very nice and crispy, just wish they were more flavorful. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Wonderful recipe!! Used smoked gouda instead of the swiss because my family loves it. But would be great with the swiss or most any other cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Added 1/4t. garlic powder and 1/4 t more salt excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I don't see how this recipe could rate a 5 star. It wasn't awful, it just wasn't great, either. Sort of ho-hum, somewhere in the middle. I cut the recipe in half and followed the instructions exactly except I added a dash of garlic powder. It was hard to turn them because they were pretty gooey and so I let them crisp up well before turning them. Hubby said they were okay but didn't have much flavor. We couldn't even tell there was cream cheese or swiss cheese in it. I was going to be generous and give it a 3 star but Hubby said he wouldn't give it more than a 2 - so that's how I came up with the 2 stars. Probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States