Swiss Cheese Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I will start by saying that I do not like meatloaf. I made this because my husband likes meatloaf and loves swiss cheese. The only thing I changed was adding some zucchini, squash and carrots that I had run through the food processor. I used the 7% fat ground beef and still had quite a bit of grease that I poured out of the pan, maybe from the cheese. The meatloaf did not slice neatly and looked pretty unappetizing so I was prepared for us to look for an alternative dinner. I was wrong, it was really good (and remember, I don't like meatloaf). My husband took one bite and said, "This may be one of my favorite meals that you make." Wow!! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Delicious! Will be making this again for sure. I didn't have sage so I used some thyme and all purpose seasoning, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I put a couple strips of bacon across the top of it and we all loved it. I could tell that this meatloaf would have tasted wonderful even without the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skibizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was very good, next time I will make it with about a 1/2 cup of Swiss cheese and a different kind of cheese, the Swiss just had too strong of a flavor for me even though I usually love Swiss cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Photo by Jersey Tomato
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
How great is this meatloaf?! Love the idea of Swiss cheese... in fact, just about ANY melted cheese topping on a meatloaf makes my mouth water. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Tomato

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
WOW! This was awesome! My husband (who is a meatloaf LOVER) raved about it while eating! I did alter the recipe just a tad. I didn't have any "buttery crackers", but I did have saltines. So I crushed about 20 and melted a half stick of butter and mixed the two. I also didn't have shredded swiss, but I had deli slices! So in the meatloaf I used a parm/oreg cheese blend. And on top I used sliced swiss to melt! Also, I used thyme instead of sage and garlic powder instead of chopped garlic. I also added some savory seasoning for added flavor! All in all this was an excellent dinner! Quick, Easy and GOOD! Great recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAYRA1983

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Just delicious! Made it with half ground turkey and half ground beef - a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We really liked this-the addition of Swiss and sage gave this meatloaf a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
It seemed a little dry and kind of came out like a brick. The crackers didn't do much for flavour...I thought it would give the meatloaf a slight buttery taste, but they didn't. I probably wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
awesome and so easy to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States