Swiss Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Did not have any white wine on hand so I used extra chicken broth instead. Also, I used chopped garlic and kept it in the cheese the whole time. Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
If you are looking for an authentic swiss tasting fondue this one is great. We used half swiss and half gruyere cheese and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
A big hit at last Thanksgiving! I use part-skim cheese so no one dies of a heart attack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candleraymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rockbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This turned out really good!! I ran into the clumping problem but when it was brought to a boil, and I just let it sit it, all just came together! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The taste was great, but once we added the corn starch mix, it became one big clump of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made it exactly how it calls for and while the taste was excellent, I couldn't find the balance with my fondue pot, so it was either boiling and runny, or stringy and clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Not good. We thought the addition of broth to fondue was a little strange, but the rest of it sounded good...... And the taste WAS pretty good, really. Unfortunately, there was so much liquid (between the broth, wine, and lemon juice) that the cheese (and I used both regular Swiss AND some Emmentaler to class it up) just formed one big lump in the liquid. I've made fondue before, and I understand that adding lemon juice can reduce clumpiness, but this wasn't just clumpiness. It was a lump of cheese in a pool. Taste-wise: 3 stars. Fondue-ability: 1 star. There are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
All the cheese was runny and tasted like chicken broth. I just couldnt believe how bad this was. I better go find a new fondue recipe~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Followed the directions, but it turned out as cheese and broth not an even mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States