Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This was delicious. I had some left over home made pinto beans, so I used those. I forgot the lime, but it still tasted great. I also used sharp white cheddar because I didn't have goat cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This recipe is simple to prepare and tastes great. I used 2 tomatoes instead of one and served it over whole wheat pasta for a really nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Perhaps I shouldn't review this because I altered the recipe. I didn't have a lime, and instead of using a small tomato I used a can of whole tomatoes crushed and let it simmer until most of the juice was gone. I really LOVED it! I will make as directed next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was super good. Served with rotini pasta dressed with a little bit of olive oil and red wine vinegar. Didn't have a tomato while making it so I used about 2 1/2 tbs tomato sauce and it all turned out delicious. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Excellent! I ad-libbed a bit b/c of hazards of frying: I steamed the red chard/stems and separately cooked the garlic with a can of Great Northern beans over medium heat; then I mixed the greens & beans, added some butter, olive oil, freshly squeezed lime juice. Topped it with parmesan - definitely an ad-lib job, but tasted amazing!! And took no time at all to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This recipe was amazing. I followed and earlier suggestion and used black bean instead and loved it! I also omitted the butter just because it felt unnecessary and it didn't seem to affect the flavor at all! It's savory, rich, but not heavy, and the lime adds a great tangy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Fantastic! We used black beans instead of pinto and chose to use the chard stalks in addition to the leaf. This is a great dish and can be served as a main dish with a salad. It would also be great with some rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Yum - I was looking for a recipe to use up some stuff from the garden and this was perfect! I didn't have pinto beans on hand, so I used a can of black beans instead. This dish has a lot of flavor and color! I think next time(there will be a next time), I'll double the amount of cooked chard, though, so it's more of a chard recipe than a bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Excellent! I could eat goat cheese on anything, but this is a beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States