Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Followed this almost exactly and couldn't have been happier. I omitted the butter, subbed safflower oil for vegetable oil, and used feta instead of goat cheese. Just used proportions of beans and cheese to match the amount of chard I had. Served with eggs and fruit for a nice brunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is now a staple in our house during swiss chard season. We sometimes use black beans and it's just as good, and we always serve it over quinoa. Healthy and delicious! Thank you for the great addition to our recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Tastes very earthy! I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of one whole tomato, and used feta in place of the goat cheese. Will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
ok so this was my 1st time cooking and eating chard. It was pretty good. I had to modify the recipe a bit to fit what I had on hand. I used one can black bean, 1/2 can of tomatoes and green chilies and i only had Feta. My son and Boyfriend both ate it they both said it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS! I used black beans, like others, because that's what I had. Also I just used butter, bc I don't need the extra fat. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I think even if you didn't make the changes I made it would still be a 5 star recipe! It's the red pepper + lime + tomato + goat cheese that's really lovely!! The chard stands up to this combo nicely, so I won't sub any other green. I think you could use any bean you wanted. Texturally, black beans, pinto beans, and white beans would all be good. We ate this as a side to white fish. I'm going to serve leftovers with white rice tomorrow, since the rice will soak up the sauce very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I can't say enough about this recipe, I share it with all of my friends! It is really a comfort food for me. I serve it over a bed of basmati rice. Thank you so much for sharing with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Great blend of flavors! From an 8-servings version, I cut the oil and butter by 1/3 (to 2T each), added one more clove of garlic, added a third bunch of Swiss chard, cut the pinto beans to 1 1/2 cans, and added one more T of lime juice. I used heirloom tomatoes that were purplish and very meaty. I baked it in a 2 1/2 qt casserole dish for 15 minutes. I took this revised version to a group dinner for 10 people and got rave reviews - and many requests for the recipe. This could serve as a vegatarian main dish as well. Thank you, MAHLP1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Fantastic. I wasnt too sure at first it seemed like an odd combination, but it was amazing!! love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I thought this was a really good, different way to use my Swiss Chard from the garden. I did use feta cheese instead of goat cheese as that was what I had on hand...fantastic flovor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
sooo tasty! made very small changes - black eyed peas, no butter, more tomato and chopped the stems, quickly steamed in microwave before adding to saute. although i added the goat cheese it doesn't need it IMHO. besides, without it (and butter), its is totally vegan, yay! leftovers are my lunch & i am salivating just thinking about it...yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States