Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This tastes wonderful but the recipe calls for one bunch of chard and you actually need two bunches of chard. There are more pinto beans than anything in this recipe. Try two bunches to even out the flavors and a whole package of goat cheese, not just 3 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I was looking for a way to use up feta cheese and found this one. Followed the recipe as written here. Fun, pretty and delicious. I would have never thought to put these ingredients together, but worked great! Used 1 roma tomato, from now on I'll use two, and experiment with different beans (although the Pinto works great). Was a nice compliment to roast pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Quite delicious - these flavors and textures all go really well together, who wouldv'e guessed?? Very easy and quick to make too..I served this as a side with a simple grilled chicken. I seasoned the chicken breasts with some coriander, tarragon, and a roasted garlic/sesame seed oil - YUM! The spices on the chicken really complemented the earthy flavors in the chard dish...and I added a bit of coriander to the chard also - it was yuuummy :). Next time I'll add more garlic and tomatoes just for my taste, but really this recipe is great as it is. Will become a staple for us, definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Ha! I liked this, but did sub quite a bit: asiago cheese for goat, which I just mixed in near the end and didn't bother baking, was great! lemon juice for lime, hot sauce for pepper flakes, oil for butter, spinach for chard, and canned drained pettite diced tomatoes for tomato. Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I loved this recipe! I did have to go all the way across town to the fancy grocery store for swiss chard, but it was really worth it! I think this has to be a brand new favorite for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhyminanstealin
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
The goat cheese and lime add a really great, tangy flavor. This was a great healthy way to get more iron-rich food into my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhyminanstealin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I can't say enough about how incredible, how wonderful this recipe is! I am, however, giving it 4 stars, because in order for it to be a 5 star recipe, you really have to do as many other reviewers suggest and use black beans instead of pinto beans. This recipe has become a "regular" in my house, thanks so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Excellent recipe! I used a bag of mixed chard from TJ's, a can of black beans, and a can of diced Italian tomatoes. I forgot to add lime juice, but it wasn't missed. I liked the goat cheese, but I don't think I really need it in this recipe. Also, I think next time I'll cut down on the oil/butter mixture, to lower the fat content. I served it as a side to bbq ribs and it was a perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States