Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeyita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
A little goat cheese goes a long way in this dish, which is good as it was expensive. I enjoyed the flavors and colors, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyrobinm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was surprisingly delicious, and so easy to prepare! I used kidney beans because I'm not a huge fan of pintos, but I can see how this would really work with the pintos. I used olive oil, and I covered the pan after adding the cheese rather than baking the dish. I thought the lime juice would stand out, but it blended in perfectly. The only change I'd make is to add more chard and tomato. Great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
We made this using a clay chamba baking dish and loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I thought this was just okay. We make a warm white bean salad that is very similar to this but without a green (other than fresh parsley) and it's much better. I didn't like the texture of the chard... thought it was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe - my 18 year old daughter who doesn't like chard ate this and had seconds. I made a few changes: I added the cheese at the end and left pot covered so no need to bake as recipe had suggested....I used no butter (didn't miss it), used mozzarella instead of goat cheese (still yummy), and used a 15 oz can of diced petite tomatoes instead of fresh tomato. Substantial recipe and nice textures, served it with a fish recipe and it was a good alternative to rice or potatoes with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I've made this dish a few times and my husband and I love it. We like it best when the recipe is followed exactly. The few times I did not-it was not as good. It is a tasty vitamin powerhouse and a great side dish to just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Excellent! Simple and flavorful. I did use more chard and more cheese. And I just added the cheese at the end and let it sit, covered, in the pan - no baking was necessary. The pintos were very good and I will try black beans next time, as other reviewers suggested. I can see this becoming part of our rotation during chard season. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was really tasty. My husband had 3 helpings. I have been purchasing new vegetables to branch out from the usual and I'm glad I found this. I too used black beans. I did not put it in the oven. After I cooked it on the stove, I topped it with goat cheese and covered it and the cheese melted down in less than ten minutes. I think most any cheese would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medusa, New York, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This tastes wonderful but the recipe calls for one bunch of chard and you actually need two bunches of chard. There are more pinto beans than anything in this recipe. Try two bunches to even out the flavors and a whole package of goat cheese, not just 3 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States