Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I think the goat cheese that I got was a little too strong for my taste. Next time I make it I may use feta, that will give it some tang but I don't think it'll be as strong. It's a different taste but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandiH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This recipe was just okay, not great. I was excited because I love many of the ingredients, but it came out just tasting so-so. It was fine, but not good enough to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great comfort food. Even M (I don't like greens) loved this and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This is a great recipe. I've used pinto, black and cannellini beans and I prefer the cannellini. I've added thawed frozen spinach when I didn't have much Swiss chard in the garden and it was still really good (though not as good as the original recipe). I serve over rice with hot sauce. It's good reheated, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
We loved this excellent combination of flavors and textures. You can't go wrong with goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
10-7-11: Made with double chard, as suggested in one of the comments, this approaches excellence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I actually use a similar combination (minus the goat cheese and lime juice) for an amazing soup. Basically you add a lot more tomatoes and juice as well as 2 more bunches of chard. The trick is to boil the chard and add to this mixture of beans (use cannelloni) and tomatoes. For a little more protein, add shredded chicken. Taste as you go for salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Followed this almost exactly and couldn't have been happier. I omitted the butter, subbed safflower oil for vegetable oil, and used feta instead of goat cheese. Just used proportions of beans and cheese to match the amount of chard I had. Served with eggs and fruit for a nice brunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is now a staple in our house during swiss chard season. We sometimes use black beans and it's just as good, and we always serve it over quinoa. Healthy and delicious! Thank you for the great addition to our recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States