Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was an excellent, easy-to-make, one-pan dish. My girlfriend and I managed to chop all the ingredients and cook this dish in about 15-20 minutes from start to finish. Based on some of the reviews that said the dish was a little bland, I added 2 tsp of crushed chili pepper and about 1 tsp of cayenne pepper to punch it up a bit. It added just a little spicy which is the way I prefer most of my food. I doubled the portions and ate this as a vegetarian main dish (along with some whole grain bread). Added to the Recipe Box and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was a good way to use chard -- light yet hearty. I used significantly less olive oil, an entire can of garbanzos, an entire can of diced tomatoes, and added a clove of garlic. I also used leeks instead of onions and shallots, because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I loved this, but then maybe I'm biased because I grew up on stuff like this with it's classic and simple Italian flavors and ingredients! Swiss Chard has always been my favorite vegetable and is sweeter and more tender than other greens (also great for adding to soups). The stalks need extra cooking time, so I sliced and cooked them separately in boiling, salted water until tender. Not wanting to open a can of garbanzo beans for just a half cup, I used the full can. I left out the green onion, but added extra shallots and fresh minced garlic. Adding the lemon at the end was something I don't generally do, but enjoyed. For those looking for old-fashioned, traditional Italian cooking and need an Italian side dish to complete their meal, this is a great and authentic choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I've been having a hard time finding really good recipes for my garden-grown swiss chard, and finally I've found one! I served it with lamb, but it would go great with many things. Even my husband who has been avoiding any green thing from the garden liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This is excellent. So wholesome! I mixed in some goat cheese near the end, and make this side dish a meal! I also used canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Swiss chard is a favorite here, in quiche, sauteed as a veg, etc. Get a good loaf of bread. I had a multi grain organic. Start the saute with the chopped shallots and 1/2 lb sliced mushrooms. S&P lightly with each addition. I had cannelleni beans on hand, and used a 1 lb can, drained and rinsed. Since it's mid winter, I subbed one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes in puree. Sprinkle in some pasta or Italian seasoning and freeze dried basil. Add in the chard and chopped stems. Add a bit of veggie "broth from the box" if needed. Cover and cook a bit. Just let the chard shrink a bit, and not get grey. Then nestle a few eggs into spoon hollows in the veggie stew. Cover, and check every three minutes. Mine took about 9 minutes on very low to give perfectly set, not runny eggs with creamy yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Very tasty! I took the suggestions to add extra garbanzo beans, garlic, and onion, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This recipe is very good but I like to add a lot of garlic to it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camila T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I was skeptical of this recipe, but I made it and found it to be very good. In lieu of the garlic clove, I used 1 garlic scape. Instead of the shallot and green onions, I used three spring onions. This dish is really very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was only so so. Definitely needed more chick peas. Even with them, it was bland. If I try to make this again, I might add more spices. It was just boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States