Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I had never cooked Swiss chard before and was looking for a simple, yet delicious recipe. This is the one. I wanted to use this as a main course, and I am not big on eating just greens. So, I used a whole can of Garbanzo beans, as others suggested, a can of diced tomatoes, 2 small cloves of garlic, and added rice to the mixture. It came out very tasty. My 2-year-old and my husband liked it, too. Next time, I will try it with orzo, instead of rice. Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Really great recipe!!! It was really yummy with feta cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylinda
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was Amazing! I did add a lot of garlic, about 5 cloves, and extra garbanzo's. I also used rainbow swiss chard instead of red. I replaced the Olive oil with Coconut oil too. I steamed my veggies as well, except the beans. For the beans I used dried and cooked them ahead of time as they do take awhile. Then I combined it all together on the stove top in a pan with the coconut oil and garlic and tomato just until hot. I will certainly make this again : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Changed: used 1 whole can beans, 3 cups fresh spinach leaves (instead swiss chard), added 2 cloves garlic, used 4 roma tomatoes, and left out lemon. Was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Super easy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious! My husband said he would have been happy just eating this side dish as the main course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli Warfel Bitler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dade City, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Make this routinely. It is fast, easy and very tasty as written. I have also put in chicken and have used all sorts of beans. The other tasty thing I add just to change it up is a little jerk seasoning. It is a delicious and filling meal with the chicken. Makes using your loads of chard easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wow! Such a simple dish with simple ingredients, I did not expect it to be so delicious! With lots of lovely chard doing well in out garden, we will definitely be enjoying this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I know that I'm in the minority here but this was really not very good. It was edible and that's about it. Very bland and just plain boring. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Carmelize the shallot if you have time. Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Sagheb
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States