Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I had to add my own special twists to this recipe. I used 1 T bacon grease and 1 T olive oil. I had no shallots so I used 1/2 C of chopped sweet onion, 2 cloves of garlic, minced and 3" of a garlic scape, (the top flower bud of a garlic plant, courtesy of my CSA's, community supported agriculture shares). It should be 2 bunches of Swiss Chard, I didn't have 2 so I added 1 bunch of spinach at the very end. I used a large tomato, a full can of garbanzo beans, and a whole small lemon. I finished with sea salt to taste. Next time I might add a little goat cheese to the top to finish. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
My boys love this meal. I used collards tonight; whatever greens I have work. In place of the shallot, I used a yellow onion. Oh, and you can TOTALLY put in a few more tomatoes ;) Fab idea, Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was teriffic! I didn't have any shallot or green onions so I used 1/4 large vidalia onion that I had on hand. It was so easy to make and delicious. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Yum! A friend gave me a huge bag full of Swiss Chard and I really didn't know what to do with it. Wow! Perfect! LOVE this recipe. I didn't have shallots, so I carmelized some red onion and I used a lime because that was all I had - it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I didn't have shallots or scallions so I just used a yellow onion which I carmalized. After that I followed the recipe. What wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I was super skeptical while cooking this, but was pleasantly surprised when I tasted it! Yum! I added garlic and used Vidalia onion instead of shallot because that's what I had. Also added feta at the end. It was my first time cooking/eating chard and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Best way that I've prepared chard! I used cherry tomatoes and used the whole can of garbanzo beans because I didn't want to save half for something else. Absolutely delicious! The lemon juice made it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Delicious! Served it over spaghetti, with goat cheese crumbles on top! I used canned chopped tomatoes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Wonderful and easy. made as is and tasted great. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was tasty, but my husband just didn't like it all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States