Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Yum! What an easy, healthy, delicious meal. I put this over whole wheat pasta and put in a whole can of garbanzos. I also added some minced garlic for a little extra flavor. I have made this recipe twice already, and I am making it again tonight. It's a huge hit with my boyfriend as well! The first time I made it, we had some goat cheese on hand so I topped the meal with that and it was a great addition. The second time, we had no cheese, but it was a tasty meal nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was an awesome way to use the Swiss Chard we got in our CSA boxes. The only things I changed was using garlic instead of a shallot and adding a little bit of chicken broth to the pan before adding the chard. This helped to steam the leaves and added some good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Made it as a lunch to share with my cousin whom I had not seen for forty years. I am vegetarian, as is her partner. It was a hit. People thought they were eating gourmet. And it was so easy to prepare. It will work as well with kale as Swiss Chard. I tripled the recipe for more servings as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Followed exactly and really enjoyed it. Great balance of favors. Very simple and quick, will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I had to add my own special twists to this recipe. I used 1 T bacon grease and 1 T olive oil. I had no shallots so I used 1/2 C of chopped sweet onion, 2 cloves of garlic, minced and 3" of a garlic scape, (the top flower bud of a garlic plant, courtesy of my CSA's, community supported agriculture shares). It should be 2 bunches of Swiss Chard, I didn't have 2 so I added 1 bunch of spinach at the very end. I used a large tomato, a full can of garbanzo beans, and a whole small lemon. I finished with sea salt to taste. Next time I might add a little goat cheese to the top to finish. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
My boys love this meal. I used collards tonight; whatever greens I have work. In place of the shallot, I used a yellow onion. Oh, and you can TOTALLY put in a few more tomatoes ;) Fab idea, Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was teriffic! I didn't have any shallot or green onions so I used 1/4 large vidalia onion that I had on hand. It was so easy to make and delicious. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Yum! A friend gave me a huge bag full of Swiss Chard and I really didn't know what to do with it. Wow! Perfect! LOVE this recipe. I didn't have shallots, so I carmelized some red onion and I used a lime because that was all I had - it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I didn't have shallots or scallions so I just used a yellow onion which I carmalized. After that I followed the recipe. What wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I was super skeptical while cooking this, but was pleasantly surprised when I tasted it! Yum! I added garlic and used Vidalia onion instead of shallot because that's what I had. Also added feta at the end. It was my first time cooking/eating chard and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States