Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is my new favorite chard recipe. It's fast, easy, and healthy. I used a young leek instead of green onions and minced garlic instead of a shallot, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was a lot more flavorful than I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
My first review but I love this recipe so much I had to. This is a great base recipe to substitute and tweak as you will. I have made this 2x in different ways and both times I loved it. The first time I stuck to the basic recipe except I used a garlic scape instead of garlic, added red pepper flakes, used 2 small onions in place of scallions/green onions, and canned tomatoes instead of fresh. The second time I made the same changes as above; in addition added cumin seeds when cooking the onion and used fresh tomatoes this time. I had no garbanzo beans so I used 1 1/2 cups cooked lentils and 1 cup cooked wheat berries that I needed to use up. Delicious!!! It had an exotic taste such as one would find in a Northern Indian or some such restaurant and it was filling enough to be a main dish (with one legume and one whole grain it's great for vegetarians). It still could use some spicing up, I think next time I will add turmeric. I also think beet greens would work nice as a substitute for the chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
it was ok, not very flavorful.. won't be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was ok. I'm not a swiss chard lover, so that's probably why I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
this was NOT good. It looked like a mess on the plate and it didn't taste nice at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatManWhoCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I was skeptical of this recipe, but I made it and found it to be very good. In lieu of the garlic clove, I used 1 garlic scape. Instead of the shallot and green onions, I used three spring onions. This dish is really very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was an excellent, easy-to-make, one-pan dish. My girlfriend and I managed to chop all the ingredients and cook this dish in about 15-20 minutes from start to finish. Based on some of the reviews that said the dish was a little bland, I added 2 tsp of crushed chili pepper and about 1 tsp of cayenne pepper to punch it up a bit. It added just a little spicy which is the way I prefer most of my food. I doubled the portions and ate this as a vegetarian main dish (along with some whole grain bread). Added to the Recipe Box and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Very tasty! I took the suggestions to add extra garbanzo beans, garlic, and onion, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was a good way to use chard -- light yet hearty. I used significantly less olive oil, an entire can of garbanzos, an entire can of diced tomatoes, and added a clove of garlic. I also used leeks instead of onions and shallots, because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was only so so. Definitely needed more chick peas. Even with them, it was bland. If I try to make this again, I might add more spices. It was just boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States