Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was soooo good! I didn't have any onions or shallot, but I used a few cloves of garlic instead. I also added some red pepper flakes and this was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom22pickyeaters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I used this recipe the first time I cooked chard. twas great--thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Healthy, easy and delicious. This was very good as written and could be adjusted many ways depending on what you have on hand or just personal preferences. I always like recipes for greens that make them less boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Perfect! It's the end of Nov and this was the last of the swiss chard from my garden. Of course being Nov, I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used a can of stewed tomatoes. This was to be a side dish for supper. Instead it became supper. Ladymildred was right - this could be meal unto itself, and last night it was. Kudos, Syd, kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I usually like this kind of dish, but I found it very bland, even after adding garlic and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This fresh meal was so good I ate the whole thing in one sitting. It would go well as a family side, or as a whole meal by itself. It wants to be eaten right away, as reheating wouldn't work with this one. Truly enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
great and flexible recipe... use more or less garbanzos(chickpeas) etc....just use your imagination and taste to modify it... as some did with garlic and/or cayenne... the fresh tomato was a nice contrast to the cooked veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is my new favorite chard recipe. It's fast, easy, and healthy. I used a young leek instead of green onions and minced garlic instead of a shallot, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was a lot more flavorful than I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
My first review but I love this recipe so much I had to. This is a great base recipe to substitute and tweak as you will. I have made this 2x in different ways and both times I loved it. The first time I stuck to the basic recipe except I used a garlic scape instead of garlic, added red pepper flakes, used 2 small onions in place of scallions/green onions, and canned tomatoes instead of fresh. The second time I made the same changes as above; in addition added cumin seeds when cooking the onion and used fresh tomatoes this time. I had no garbanzo beans so I used 1 1/2 cups cooked lentils and 1 cup cooked wheat berries that I needed to use up. Delicious!!! It had an exotic taste such as one would find in a Northern Indian or some such restaurant and it was filling enough to be a main dish (with one legume and one whole grain it's great for vegetarians). It still could use some spicing up, I think next time I will add turmeric. I also think beet greens would work nice as a substitute for the chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
it was ok, not very flavorful.. won't be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States