Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was unexpectedly delicious! I did add 1 clove of garlic, but that was it. It was a great way to use the swiss chard in my CSA box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was the first time I ever cooked chard, and my 7 year old LOVED it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was amazing! I went to my local farmer's market and got some fresh chard, sweet tomatoes, candy onions and the sharpness of the chard with the sweetness of the tomatoes/onions was superb! The beans add a great texture. I made this for guests (which I do not like to try out "new" things on guests) but they loved it as well. I also added a little minced garlic as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindamccartneyfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
loved this! we added a bunch of fresh garlic & used canned tomatoes & it was a great side dish or simple vegetarian main. will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a great combination, and a wonderful way to use swiss chard. I used a whole can of chick peas and added minced garlic and a chopped yellow bell pepper - it was an incredible vegetarian dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This tastes like "fancy restaurant fare"! I made it exactly as written...lemon and all...and am so glad I did, because all of the flavors balance out perfectly. Thanks for posting this recipe. We enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Really great way to use swiss chard which in my opinion is one of the most beautiful and healthful veggies there is. My son wasn't a fan of the lemon but I thought it balanced the bitterness of the chard. The garbonzo beans (aka chickpeas) added creaminess but I actually think it could do without the tomatos if you don't like them. I served with some roast turkey breasts and whole wheat dinner rolls for a really nice, easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This was decent. I needed to use the swiss chard I got in my CSA. I added spinach, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This dish was pretty good - I used kale instead of swiss chard. I think next time I will use cannelini beans or some other bean because I am just not a fan of the texture of garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Very good. Even my husband liked it, and he's not a fan of garbanzo beans. The only change I made was to add a large clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States