Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have lemon or fresh tomato so I used balsamic vinegar and canned diced tomato. Topped it with seared sea scallops. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
The overall dish was a bit soggy, but the taste was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimholtkc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I had a huge amount of swiss chard that was given to me by my sister from her garden, and didn't know what to do with it 'til I found this recipe. I substituted yellow onion and garlic for the shallots and green onions since that was all I had on hand, and from there I just doubled the recipe and made it in my huge skillet. Very tasty. My husband and I both loved this. Since I still have enough swiss chard left to make another batch of this, I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Very tasty and satisfying. I substituted white beens for the garbanzos and added fresh garlic. It reheats well for lunches, too. I am a new subscriber to a local/organic produce box and had never cooked chard before. This recipe is being saved to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This dish balances beautifully - the lemon at the end really makes it. This recipe is quite easy and tastes great. I basically doubled the recipe and added garlic, because I am a garlic fiend, but this recipe is perfect just as it is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I loved this, but then maybe I'm biased because I grew up on stuff like this with it's classic and simple Italian flavors and ingredients! Swiss Chard has always been my favorite vegetable and is sweeter and more tender than other greens (also great for adding to soups). The stalks need extra cooking time, so I sliced and cooked them separately in boiling, salted water until tender. Not wanting to open a can of garbanzo beans for just a half cup, I used the full can. I left out the green onion, but added extra shallots and fresh minced garlic. Adding the lemon at the end was something I don't generally do, but enjoyed. For those looking for old-fashioned, traditional Italian cooking and need an Italian side dish to complete their meal, this is a great and authentic choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Healthy & surprisingly very tasty! I added cannellini beans and used lime juice instead of lemon (all I had) plus a little red wine vinegar. I also added a few stale pieces of rye bread which turned into yummy dumplings. Served the whole thing with tiny toast squares and it was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Delicious! Added garlic and parsely, used red onion instead of shallot; otherwise followed the recipe. MMMMMMMMM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Wow, this is really good! The whole family loved it and I will definately prepare it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
A great way to use up the swiss chard on my garden. Next time i will use more seasonings. I used orzo instead of beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States