Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great quick nutritious yummy meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENA13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Great recipe and easy to make! I added garlic and it came out perfect! As a main I would serve it with rice or orzo, it seemed somewhat lacking on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
What a delicious recipe! I made a few changes of my own (added feta, mushrooms) and a few changes recommended by others (doubled shallots, chickpeas and green onions). This really is a terrifically light and refreshing way to use up your swiss chard. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
i LOVE this recipe - i don't change a thing. i serve this with a pieve of pan seared fish like cod or whitefish......YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Wow, this was so quick and easy! It is so tasty. I omitted the beans, simply because I didn't have any on hand, but I will put them in the next time. I sprinkled a little Parmesan Cheese on top, so yummy! I can't wait to make this with Christmas dinner, or for New Years Eve. I think "greens" are supposed to be Good Luck for the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Only 4 starts since I cooked it in bacon which isn't called for. Great dish, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna164

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is the first time that I have tried chard and it was delicious! Next time, I will add more chard, as it cooks down quite a bit. I added the stalk too, and served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I substituted white beans for the garbanzo beans. This dish is very wholesome with good flavors. Tasty way to get your greens in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was great, using what I had on hand. I omitted the shallot and green onions, substituting one whole red onion roughly chopped and 3 minced cloves of garlic. I made sure to stem the chard, chopped the stems, and threw them in with the onion and garlic to saute up nice and tender. I used a whole can of garbanzo beans and 1 whole can of scantily drained garlic roasted tomatoes. Cooked all this to a simmer, and added the chard to wilt. After it was wilted, I used one tablespoon of lemon juice to sprinkle over it, and then tossed it. I put it in the serving dish, added a handful of grated Parmesan cheese, and stirred to combine. It was HEAVENLY. I will add more chard next time though, it looses a lot of volume when it wilts. Even my super picky 2 year old liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Pretty good. I decided to dice up some chicken breast and add it to the recipe. I also added taragon, basil and curry spice. Random, I know. You can pretty much do what you want with this recipe, which makes it pretty great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States