Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made a few adjustments after reading the other reviews. First, I sauteed the stems with the onions since they take a bit longer to cook and are somewhat bitter otherwise. I started salting at this step. Then I used a whole can of garbonzo beans and added a couple of tablespoons of apple cider vinegar to the hot pot, again to combat the inherent bitterness of the greens. I also added chili powder and Thai dragon pepper to the mix. It turned out wonderfully and was only better as it sat in the fridge for a couple of days. I would recommend using a very large bunch of chard if you use the whole can of beans. I used a ton from my garden and still had to supplement it with mustard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alyssalovesfood
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Awesome dish! I've never cooked with Swiss chard and I definitely will again! I used the whole can of garbanzo beans, yellow onion instead of shallot, and added cayenne pepper like the person suggested below. My food pics are on Instagram ahcoutry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
i spiced it up with white pepper,, and added a medley of red, green and orange peppers, i will def make this again,, it was wholesome,, hearty and an easy way for me to use my chard straight out the garden with stuff i had in the fridge or freezer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this recipe with collard greens because my store did not carry swiss chard, also I added about a half of a tsp of smoked paprika, and used a whole can of chickpeas. This recipe is outstanding! I will be making this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennyjell30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
SENSATIONAL!!! My family is full of meat lovers but I wanted to try something different. This was perfect! I added a little garlic (abt. a tsp) with diced yellow onion substituted for the shallot, and the green onions. I also doubled the recipe. We will definitely put this into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Added Gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Great recipe, but tweaked by using more garbanzos, adding chopped garlic, and choosing heirloom cherry tomatoes cut in half. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This recipe was really simple and good. I made a few modifications: 1) Added the cut up stems with the onions as they take longer to cook. Used sprouted chickpeas cooked in veggie broth. I added about 1/2 cup of the broth to the chickpeas and tomatoes to make a "stew". Finally, threw in rosemary, thyme, parsley, and oregano from my garden and a bit of lemon zest. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Fresh chard and tomatoes from the garden got me searching out new recipes . . . So glad I found this one. I LOVE THIS DISH! The garbanzo beans really made this special and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
A huge hit with the family. Used grape tomatoes and extra garbanzo beans. Didn't have scallions or shallot, so used leeks instead. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States