Swink's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was a good start, but when I made it to the recipe the first time, I had to throw it out -- it was a greasy watery soup of unseasoned meat and beans. The second time, I sweated the onions (in a tiny bit of olive oil) separately from the beef. When the beef was browned, I drained the grease and patted it dry. Then I added the spice package (plus a lot of extra chili powder, paprika and garlic powder, plus some Worcestershire sauce), and gradually added water as the spices and meat cooked together. Most of the water cooked off, and then the onions were added. From that point, I followed the recipe, with the addition of some srichacha (asian pepper paste) right at the end -- added a lovely kick. With those changes, the recipe is a definite keeper for us. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This chili was SO GOOD! I've made it two times now and the first time I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added a teaspoon of cumin. It was delicious. My only complaint was that it was a little soupy and would have been too runny for chilidogs. So the second time I used a half cup water instead of two and it was just the right dog consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Not bad, I love using the crock pot. I thought it was a bit sweet and may try leaving out the tomato paste next time. It makes a lot and I've had leftovers for lunch many times. Don't forget to serve some good bread with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
My family enjoyed this chili. I used two cans of baked beans (that's what I had and my daughters like a sweeter chili), then added a chopped green pepper, a teaspoon of garlic powder and a teaspoon of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Average. The canned tomato soup was overpowering. My family kept asking what *is* that taste. I used 1 1/2 cups of water and 1 tsp. of cumin. I did not have 2 lbs of ground beef, so I used 1 lb. ground beef, 1/2 lb ground turkey and 1/2 lb. ground sausage. Make sure you *drain* the ground beef (I always do) *before* adding seasoning mix and putting in the crockpot or it will be runny and greasy. My family ate this but ask me to go back to making chili with *beer instead of tomato soup!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe but it just wasn't happening. Chili should have a nice bright taste. I think the baked beans made for an odd filmy texture and taste that didn't belong. I have used tomato soup in another recipe - Hoosier Daddy Chili -from this site and it blended in well so I don't think the failed taste had anything to do with that. Too bad really, as it was easy to prepare. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I've had this recipe in my recipe box for almost two years but kept passing it by. What a mistake! It's really good chili. I changed it a bit. I only made half the recipe by using half the beef and onion, one can of baked beans, a rounded tablespoon of tomato paste, half the seasoning packet, some green pepper and minced garlic and one can of the soup and then the tomatoes. I didn't add any water, and it was the perfect thickness. It seemed a bit hot for my little guy's taste so I added a handful of brown sugar. I served it over pasta with cheese and onions on top. This will now be my standard chili recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe is THE BEST!!!! I added a dash of red pepper, and some salt and pepper. Other then these additions, I followed the exact recipe. I also added some cheddar cheese and sour cream in my bowl and thought it tasted great this way too!!!!! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
very good, although I added some green peppers and chili powder and ground cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
My family loved it! I added 2 chopped tomatoes instead of the canned tomatoes, and it tasted great! Makes a large amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States