Swink's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This chili was SO GOOD! I've made it two times now and the first time I followed the recipe exactly, except that I added a teaspoon of cumin. It was delicious. My only complaint was that it was a little soupy and would have been too runny for chilidogs. So the second time I used a half cup water instead of two and it was just the right dog consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODILICIOUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was a good start, but when I made it to the recipe the first time, I had to throw it out -- it was a greasy watery soup of unseasoned meat and beans. The second time, I sweated the onions (in a tiny bit of olive oil) separately from the beef. When the beef was browned, I drained the grease and patted it dry. Then I added the spice package (plus a lot of extra chili powder, paprika and garlic powder, plus some Worcestershire sauce), and gradually added water as the spices and meat cooked together. Most of the water cooked off, and then the onions were added. From that point, I followed the recipe, with the addition of some srichacha (asian pepper paste) right at the end -- added a lovely kick. With those changes, the recipe is a definite keeper for us. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This is an excellent recipe. I have made it twice. The first time I fixed the recipe, I left it as is. It was wonderful. The second time I used the recipe, I tweaked it a bit. Instead of using the onion, I used a sweet red & green pepper. Instead of using the diced tomatoes and chiles, I used diced tomatoe and sweet onion. I eliminated the baked beans and used pinto beans. My brothers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This chili was wonderful and so easy to make! And just like another reviewer, I thought it tasted just like the chili at Wendy's. I made it exactly as the recipe called for and was very pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
This is the best chili I have ever made. It tastes just like the chili that you get at Wendy's. I like my chili sweet, so I added a tablespoon of brown sugar. Otherwise, it's PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I've had this recipe in my recipe box for almost two years but kept passing it by. What a mistake! It's really good chili. I changed it a bit. I only made half the recipe by using half the beef and onion, one can of baked beans, a rounded tablespoon of tomato paste, half the seasoning packet, some green pepper and minced garlic and one can of the soup and then the tomatoes. I didn't add any water, and it was the perfect thickness. It seemed a bit hot for my little guy's taste so I added a handful of brown sugar. I served it over pasta with cheese and onions on top. This will now be my standard chili recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I liked this recipe except there was too much tomato sauce taste. It needed more flavor. I don't know exactly how I would change it but it was almost like spaghetti sauce with chili beans in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
My family loved it! I added 2 chopped tomatoes instead of the canned tomatoes, and it tasted great! Makes a large amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
My family enjoyed this chili. I used two cans of baked beans (that's what I had and my daughters like a sweeter chili), then added a chopped green pepper, a teaspoon of garlic powder and a teaspoon of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Not bad, I love using the crock pot. I thought it was a bit sweet and may try leaving out the tomato paste next time. It makes a lot and I've had leftovers for lunch many times. Don't forget to serve some good bread with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States