Swink's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
oh,wowwww. such a great recipe. not i use seasoning a lot, person, nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Delicious, I make this same recipe and add a can of Mexican Corn..My sister actually gave me this recipe many years ago. Wonderful for the Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieKaren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe but it just wasn't happening. Chili should have a nice bright taste. I think the baked beans made for an odd filmy texture and taste that didn't belong. I have used tomato soup in another recipe - Hoosier Daddy Chili -from this site and it blended in well so I don't think the failed taste had anything to do with that. Too bad really, as it was easy to prepare. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Average. The canned tomato soup was overpowering. My family kept asking what *is* that taste. I used 1 1/2 cups of water and 1 tsp. of cumin. I did not have 2 lbs of ground beef, so I used 1 lb. ground beef, 1/2 lb ground turkey and 1/2 lb. ground sausage. Make sure you *drain* the ground beef (I always do) *before* adding seasoning mix and putting in the crockpot or it will be runny and greasy. My family ate this but ask me to go back to making chili with *beer instead of tomato soup!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe is THE BEST!!!! I added a dash of red pepper, and some salt and pepper. Other then these additions, I followed the exact recipe. I also added some cheddar cheese and sour cream in my bowl and thought it tasted great this way too!!!!! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Very Good chilli I did add some cumin but other than that followed the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
The sausage makes this chili. Very good recipe. I added chili seasoning, cumin, and chopped jalepeno pepper to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greene, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
My family loved this chili...the only things that I changed were that I added some salt (to taste), and I added about half the water. It was perfectly beany, meaty, thick, and rich. It DEFINITELY tastes even better the next day. I will definitely be making this again, although I will add some green bell peppers next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I thought this recipe was awesome! I never made chili before and was very nervous about it because my husband loves chili...but he loved it! I was very happy on how easy it was to make! The only thing I did different was put only 1/2 cup of water. It was perfect!I will definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I deleted the water and the consistency was nice and thick- like chili you eat in a bowl rather than as a topping. I also added a chopped green pepper for some color and texture. The only problem I ran into is that it was a bit mushy after 2 hrs- I sampled it at about 1.5 hours and it was delicious, but then I left the rest for the remaining half hour, and the beans were mushier than I would have liked. I'd sample it after an hour and fifteen minutes or so, and if you like the consistency then, just take it out. Next time that's what I'll do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States