Swimming Angels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I don't usually like the peanut sauce at Thai restaurants -- it's too sweet for my personal tastes. But this recipe caught my eye, and it was so amazingly delicious! The balance of flavors was perfect. I can't wait to make this again, and I'd love to try the sauce on grilled veggies and grilled tofu. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is similar to dishes I've had called "Rama Thai", "Royal Thai", and "Phraram Long Song" (Meat in Peanut Sauce). I think this version is a little too thick and peanut buttery. I added an extra 1/2 cup of water. Next time I will only use 1/3 cup of peanut butter and add a 14 oz. can of coconut milk, and 1/8 cup water. I thought it needed a little more flavor, so I used 2 1/2 tbls. soy sauce, 2 1/2 tbls. rice vinegar, 1/4 tsp. powdered ginger, 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper (to add some kick), and 1/8 tsp. sesame oil. I thought it was just a bit too sweet, so next time I'll only add 2 tbls. of sugar (esp. if I use coconut milk). I like my tofu crispy, so I drained and cut extra firm tofu into 2"x1" pieces, salted the cubes and deep fried them in 175F degree veg. oil for 3 minutes until golden. I wilted the spinach in a couple tsps. of oil in a skillet and drained it in a collander. I also added a 10 oz. can of mock duck. Top the dish with some chopped peanuts and it's perfect. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was an EXCELLENT, restaurant-quality recipe! I sliced & baked my tofu (400 degrees, 20 min on one side, 10 on the other) and followed the recipe exactly - it was delicious. Next time I'll reduce the rice by half - we had way too much left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Mmmmmm this was delicious. I took advice from another review and sauteed the tofu and spinach in sesame oil instead of baking and steaming. The peanut sauce was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Really good , I pan fried the tofu because we like it crispy.Added lots of garlic and scallions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
It's okay, but probably won't make again. Neither of us cared for the blend of flavors. On the plus side, I had my best day since developing arthritis after eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Fantastic! This is my favorite Thai recipe, and I order it all the time at restaurants. This recipe is restaurant quality. I made it with chicken- cubed, seasoned with salt and pepper, dredged in flour then sauteed in a little butter. Amazing. Favorite meal right now. Can't wait for the left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was soo good! I took the advice and scaled down the peanut butter to 1/4 cup for 2 servings. Also, I added a bit of Worcestershire sauce as well. Four stars because, as written, it would have been too much peanut butter and not enough tang! It was a great guide to an awesome meal, though!! This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I added extra veggies and stir fried the tofu. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was just okay. The sauce was great in the pot, but once I put it over the rice and tofu, for some reason it lost a lot of its pizzazz. To be fair, I did make some of the changes suggested by others. I added a can of coconut milk and ginger. We ended up adding lime juice, soy sauce, and peanuts to our plates and this helped. I will probably make the sauce again and use it as a base. Still definitely worth the try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States