Swen's Smokehouse Beef Jerky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I TRIED THIS RECIPE WITH MY BIG CHIEF SMOKER AND WOW!!! IT WAS GREAT! I USED SOME APPLEWOOD FOR THE CHIPS AND THAT JUST DID IT. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Awesome Jerky Marinade! The flavors meld well together. Its a little sweet, a little smokey, and a little spicy. We are very discriminating and this is our family's favorite. We marinate london broil overnight and put in food dehydrator the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I tried this and loved it. Actually what caught my eye, was the fact that you are from Cresent City Ca. I was born in Arcats and lived in Cresent city when I was younger. Went to Pine Grove and St. Josephs. That made me try your recipie! Celeste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
yes 5* beef jerky!!!...i followed the ingreds as stated and marinated sliced sirloin steak for about 30 hours...smoked it for about 5-6 hours...i had to use maple chips coz that is all i had for now...PERFECT...dh really liked it!!! will forsure make it again...thanks for sharing this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This jerky recipe is by far the best I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
If you like a sweeter jerky, you might like this. I prefer a more "store-bought" jerky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
5 stars even though I used this as a 'guide'. I don't own a smoker but use my dehydrator. I cut recipe in 1/2 although I had close to 2 lb rump roast sliced using my electric slicer (crosscut). I used low sodium soy sauce & 1/4 C of Worst. I didn't have the cran/grape juice so used 1/4 C orange juice I had reduced down. Also added tsp of orange and lime zest. Because I don't have a smoker and don't like Teriyaki ~ I subbed that with 1/4 C of Pecan liquid smoke. Didn't have steak sauce so didn't use. I did however throw in onion and garlic powder, red pepper flakes and 1 T of minced Habanero as I like heat. I did mix the marinade and let it sit overnight before adding to sliced up meat in large zip bag. Marinaded meat for 48 hours turning occasionally. Wow! I wrote all this so I'd remember what I did for next time and possibly give others some ideas with this decent jerky marinade you can play with. I really liked my added citrus twang. Wish I had a smoker to 'cook' this jerky in. Thanks K & E's Mommy for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This was the first thing I made in my electric smoker and it was AMAZING! I sliced the meat a little too thick (rookie mistake), but it still didn't last more than 2 hours with just me eating it and I'm not even a big guy. It's not as sweet as you might think, it has just the right blend of flavors. The steak sauce is key! I used A1 and hickory wood chips, smoked at 160 degrees. I will never buy beef jerky again and am going to be making this again this weekend, I am even going to make twice the amount. This is an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doc's Best Beef Jerky

See how to make beef jerky from scratch in the oven or a dehydrator.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

How to Make Beef Satay

An incredibly delicious marinade makes amazing grilled beef satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States