Sweetly Stewed Rhubarb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Excellent, just like my father used to make for me 40 years ago. Delicious over a good quality vanilla ice cream. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
One of the wonderful things about spring is fresh rhubarb, and I have been stewing it for a long time. I have never added cinnamon or fresh cut-up strawberries (as one of the other reviewers suggested) and I thought both added to the flavour. To save time, I cook the rhubarb (about 3 cups) in the microwave, in a high-sided dish with a lid. To the diced rhubarb, I add just enough water to cover the bottom, cover, and cook until the rhubarb is soft (usually less then 5 minutes), then I add the sugar to taste (and this time, I put in strawberries and cinnamon as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Very good taste to this recipe. I only used 2 cups of sugar and it was sweetened perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
HA! So interesting that last reviewer suggested using kitchen shears/scissors for cutting the rhubarb - I just discovered this trick tonight and it worked GREAT (and quick!). My rhubarb is stewing as I type and I was scrolling for a recipe for the remaining rhubarb when I stumbled on this one. My recipe is the same, except I vary it. Tonight I omitted the cinnamon and added fresh grated orange rind and juice...delightful with homemade toast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great recipe, so easy. I sometimes add Grand Marnier and Orange Juice and have it with cream for a wicked dessert. Tip: Use chicken scissors to cut the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I always start with less sugar and then add if necessary, as it always seems to vary depending on the tartness of the rhubarb (or on my sweet tooth that particular day). This is something that was always a special treat my grandmother made for us and remains so to this day. I often add a little vanilla, as that was what grandma did. Although this can be eaten just as is, or served over ice cream...the way grandma served it (and the way we eat it most often) is stirred into plain yogurt...in those days there were no flavored yogurts and so this was a special treat to make plain yogurt good. Now we just eat it with plain yogurt because it is just plain good that way!! Try it...way better than any fruit flavored yogurt you'll get in a store! (although I suspect you shouldn't compare calories;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Is equally delicious using splenda instead of sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Smashing recipe. I used to have this with custard - even in the Forces - until 1946. It's the only favourite which my mothere never taught me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
What a superb recipe, though as several other reviewers pointed out--adjust sugar to personal tastes as rhubarb tends to be 'sweeter' earlier in the year. I used less sugar and added a splash of vanilla at the end.. As suggested by TraceyT--this is wonderful mixed w/ homemade plain yogurt. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a comfort food for me. Brings back memories of summers at Grandma's and an endless supply of rhubbarb. Instead of adding sugar, I use a few packets of sugar free cherry gelatin-this eliminates the sugar and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyc

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States