Sweetly Stewed Rhubarb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Excellent, just like my father used to make for me 40 years ago. Delicious over a good quality vanilla ice cream. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Very good taste to this recipe. I only used 2 cups of sugar and it was sweetened perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Smashing recipe. I used to have this with custard - even in the Forces - until 1946. It's the only favourite which my mothere never taught me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Thanks for the recipe technique - I added my own stuff which made it a 5 star in my humble opinion :) If anyone's interested, I boiled about 10 very large stalks of rhubarb in enough water to well cover them, for about 18 minutes (they were old so they were soft after 10). I then added a small package of chopped up strawberries and a package of blueberries. I used about 1.5 cups of white sugar, 3 Tbsp. of vanilla extract, and to thicken at the end cornstarch (mixed with water first to avoid clumping). The smell in the house was divine and this'll go great over ice cream as a compote. Thanks again! Wasn't sure how to cook rhubarb or with how much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great recipe, so easy. I sometimes add Grand Marnier and Orange Juice and have it with cream for a wicked dessert. Tip: Use chicken scissors to cut the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
HA! So interesting that last reviewer suggested using kitchen shears/scissors for cutting the rhubarb - I just discovered this trick tonight and it worked GREAT (and quick!). My rhubarb is stewing as I type and I was scrolling for a recipe for the remaining rhubarb when I stumbled on this one. My recipe is the same, except I vary it. Tonight I omitted the cinnamon and added fresh grated orange rind and juice...delightful with homemade toast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I always start with less sugar and then add if necessary, as it always seems to vary depending on the tartness of the rhubarb (or on my sweet tooth that particular day). This is something that was always a special treat my grandmother made for us and remains so to this day. I often add a little vanilla, as that was what grandma did. Although this can be eaten just as is, or served over ice cream...the way grandma served it (and the way we eat it most often) is stirred into plain yogurt...in those days there were no flavored yogurts and so this was a special treat to make plain yogurt good. Now we just eat it with plain yogurt because it is just plain good that way!! Try it...way better than any fruit flavored yogurt you'll get in a store! (although I suspect you shouldn't compare calories;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARAJOY
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This isn't really what i was looking for. The flavor was ok, but it was way to thin for us. So i ended up simmering & low boiling for 3.5 hrs to get the recipe a bit thicker. Then we just ate it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Is equally delicious using splenda instead of sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
One of the wonderful things about spring is fresh rhubarb, and I have been stewing it for a long time. I have never added cinnamon or fresh cut-up strawberries (as one of the other reviewers suggested) and I thought both added to the flavour. To save time, I cook the rhubarb (about 3 cups) in the microwave, in a high-sided dish with a lid. To the diced rhubarb, I add just enough water to cover the bottom, cover, and cook until the rhubarb is soft (usually less then 5 minutes), then I add the sugar to taste (and this time, I put in strawberries and cinnamon as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States