Sweetly Stewed Rhubarb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
For those that did not know what to do with all the cooked rhubarb water; it makes a very refreshing summer beverage. Just add more water and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Stewed rhubarb is delious, you don't need any water.The rhubarb has enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I tried adding the orange juice with a little of the orange zest without the cinnamon. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJJLEWIS
Home Town: Louisiana, Missouri, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
One quarter to one half cup of water, cover and simmer, suffices to draw all the water from the fruit into the pan that you need. Otherwise, you end up with a nice rhubarb BEVERAGE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I followed your recipe today and it is like rhubarb soup! Way too much water. I am now trying to figure out what I should do with a pot filled with rhubarb flavored water.... I do love stewed rhubarb though, I normally make it with frozen rhubarb... next time I will not put anywhere near the amount of water. I also used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of 3 cups of white. To take the edge off the rhubarb toss in a tablespoon of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very tasty with the addition of cinnamon, though it is definately too sweet. Used 2 1/2 cups of sugar and found it to be to much, will try again and use next time. This is really good over cheap vanilla ice cream (for some reason I think the cheap stuff tastes better with rhubarb!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
So yummy! I just made this and I followed the advice of others to start low on the sugar, taste and adjust. (Of course it tasted so good I was doing more tasting and less adjusting...)I like my rhurarb pretty tangy, and I had added a handful of strawberries, so I only used 1 cup of sugar. I also found that it required way to much water. I had to let my cook for 90 minutes so that it wasn't soupy and was nice and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is a comfort food for me. Brings back memories of summers at Grandma's and an endless supply of rhubbarb. Instead of adding sugar, I use a few packets of sugar free cherry gelatin-this eliminates the sugar and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyc

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I'm not sure what happened...I added just under enough water to cover the rhubarb but it is REALLY watery now! I even added cornstarch to try to thicken it but it doesn't seem to be working. I will try this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
What a superb recipe, though as several other reviewers pointed out--adjust sugar to personal tastes as rhubarb tends to be 'sweeter' earlier in the year. I used less sugar and added a splash of vanilla at the end.. As suggested by TraceyT--this is wonderful mixed w/ homemade plain yogurt. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States