Sweetly Spiced Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
This recipe was just out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
We thought this recipe was excellent. Great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
My guests were impressed by this dish and it was very tasty. It was also a lot of work! I liked making something out-of-the-ordinary, but I will not go through the effort of preparing this dish on a regular basis - special occasions only. Glad to add it to my recipe box though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I love this dish. It has all the wonderful flavors of fall. The butternut squash takes on a wonderful sweet taste due to the brown sugar and spices. I used apple cider the last time I made it as that is what I had on hand and it made the flavor even more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Wonderful holiday dish! I'm not usually one for pork, but... WOW! For the sake of presentation, I kept the pork tenderlion whole (instead of cubing it as the recipe suggests). I cooked it in the oven for between 1-2 hours (you need to monitor it since ovens differ). I also couldn't find any butternut squash so I omitted that completely. Finally, since I didn't want to go out and buy cloves and mace just for this recipe I used Allspice instead. It was fantastic! I'll definately be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Great recipe! It was delicious and tender. I had fresh cranberries (yay fall!) so used those, reduced the apple, subbed cranberry juice and maple syrup and served with egg noodles and steamed greens and it was outstandingly scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This sounded so good, and what few reviews it had gotten were all good. I didn't like it much at all. I love squash and pork, but their flavor was completely overwhelmed by the spices. It was like having potpourri for dinner. Might have made a good salsa, omitting the squash, for a whole pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Strong, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Great recipe for a fall day. I only made two small changes; I omitted the salt and pepper and added them later and instead of apple juice I used apple spiced wine. This one is a keeper! Excellent leftovers as well if there is any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
It definitely is a sweet main dish, so don't forget to make some sides to even it out. Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice went very well. I made a few teeny changes, no mace, cranberries, or apple juice... so I used cardamom, dried dates and apple cider. For a prettier presentation, slice the squash into french fry shapes, and leave the apples in wedge shapes. All the cubing is ugly and a lot more work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
No apple juice used apple cider vinegar. Turned out very well will all spice instead of mace and cloves. Next time I am gong to throw a can of pineapple chuncks in at the end. Just long enough to heat up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States