Sweetheart Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Hi! I am the submitter of this (technique) recipe. I know using a box cake really isn't a recipe, but Allrecipes contacted me asking me to submitt this because of the requests they recieved. So with that said, I submitted this so everyone can use my technique and have fun. You can use a box cake or a cake from scratch. I used Wilton (No Taste) RED concentrated paste icing color, and added a few drops of raspberry candy oil to the pink batter for flavor. You can add any flavor candy oil or extract. Someone asked how to get the swirled look on the frosting. Here is how it's done: Paint a verticle stripe maybe 5" or so on the inside of a pastry bag, using a gel or paste tint. Starting at the tip end, you can paint one stripe, two stripes (side by side or one stripe on each side of the bag), or use different colors and paint a bunch of stripes. Just depends on the look you want. Then add your frosting, and swirl it on the cupcake. I hope that made sense. ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
607 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These are so adorable. Just a note-- make sure you push the tip of the bag (with colored mix) down into the white batter so you get the effect of the picture. My first batch had more of a tri layered look instead of the centered colored look. Oops. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome! I just finished making these as a trial run for Valentine's Day and they are *so* cute. I did use Wilton gel coloring in pink and red, as that's what I had on hand (just mixed in until I got the shades I was looking for). I can't wait to use this technique for other holidays. For those of you who want to achieve the colored stripes in your icing, simply paint a stripe about 5" long down each side of your piping bag with gel coloring. You can use one color or multiple colors, depending on the look you're going for. Carefully fill the bag with icing and start playing! Thanks so much for sharing, Celeste! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
these worked out great. i wanted to make 24 cupcakes but ran out of batter by about cupcake #12 so if you want a full batch make sure to use 2 packages of cake mix which will give you about 27 cupcakes in total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made green for St. Patrick's Day and instead of using the 3rd tinted cake batter, I made mint chocolate ganache for the center of the cupcakes. FABULOUS!! Ganache: 13 ounces heavy cream, 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate and 6 ounces Andes Mint Chips. In a sauce pan bring your cream to a light boil. Then pour in the chocolate and start stirring immediately. Keep going until you have a smooth mixture. Turn off your burner and set aside to cool. Once room temp, use in place of the 3rd tinted cake mix. I used this and store bought white icing piped together for the icing. The overall presentation wasn't near as well done as it could have been, but they really were great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I had a similar idea for my baby annoncement but wasn't sure how to tackle it exactly. . . now I know! When I find out the gender of the "bun in my oven," I will use pink or blue batter in the cupcakes I plan to bring to my office that afternoon and will even drop some by my 4 yr old's daycare. This is a PERFECT way to announce it during an afternoon cupcake toast with my friends at work and for my daughter to share with her friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kingston Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I made these for my daughters class for her birthday. They were a HUGE hit. So fun when the kids discovered there was something different inside. I added cocoa to the extra batter instead of food coloring. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennybaby72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Hi! I've been making a variation of this technique for many years. You may want to try this technique for a different look: Instead of piping the colored cake batter into the center of the cupcake as described, use a Tablespoon full of one color batter and place it in the cup. Then take another Tablespoon of batter and place it next or on top of the first one. Then take another color and do the same thing. Repeat until you reach the desired amount of batter in the cupcake holders. Finally, take a long wooden skewer (or similar), place it inside the batter and swirl the batter around a bit - just like you would if you were making a marble cake. This technique results in a "tie-dyed" look which is very retro and fun! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These are soooo cute! I'm going to mix in some strawberry extract with the pink batter for a more unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NCarattini
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
It was awesome! The family loved it! It was an easy way to add some spark to your usual cupcakes. I will definitely use it for other occasions. I added strawberry extract to the pink batter and it tasted great! Will be a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCarattini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States