Sweetheart Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by kjstrom
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
These cupcakes are so cute, fun and very easy to make. I couldn't find the flavored oil at any of my local grocery or craft stores, so following other reviewers' advice, I just added cherry flavored extract. What a waste: you couldn't even tell it was there. And I added a lot! I used a pastry bag and tip to make sure I got the colored batter all the way to the bottom. I iced them with "Wedding Cake Frosting" from this site using the colored swirl technique that Celeste described. They came out looking like they came straight from the bakery. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Easy and delicious! I make them with a chocolate outside and raspberry inside with buttercream icing.. MMmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRubia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Awesome tip for making VERY impressive cupcakes! I only used two flavors (chocolate and vanilla) and took them to work. Everyone kept coming up to my desk with a "How'd you DO it?!" Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This made sort of layers for me rather than the pretty pattern others got -- I probably didn't press the tip down far enough. I have an actual piping tip that would work great for this, and I'll use that next time. Thank you for sharing! (P.S. I used this method with AR's "White Almond Wedding Cake" and liked the flavor of the cake. I do NOT like the flavor of Wilton's "leaf green" food coloring, blech, FYI. It didn't ruin my cakes but it's pretty noticeable -- just a tip for others who might want to use that color.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
So cute, just one thing, my cupcakes shrivled up a bit and the tops were very cracked. This wouldn't stop me from making them again though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Pâtisserie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
great! I made these for a gender reveal party when I was pregnant. Instead of red food coloring I used BLUE since I was having a baby boy. It was a huge hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Loved this idea, and it was super easy to do. Followed others tips on making sure you push the tip of the bag to the bottom. These turned out super cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe, easy to adapt to any occasion. I used red and blue food color gel to make red, white and blue cupcakes. Put red and blue gel lines on side of pastry bag before fling with white whipped frosting with a star tip. The entire presentation was perfect! Thank you for the cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made these for Valentines day this year and everyone loved them... I thought that they were cuter than they tasted though. I didnt use the raspberry flavoring so that might have helped with the flavor. I think next time i will add some strawberry flavoring to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jbair001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Great idea, works perfect... instead of bags for the coloured batter I used my plastic icing containers to squirt it in. Kept my four year old busy for quite a while helping me create rainbow cupcakes... we used blue and pink batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States