Sweetheart Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Nice,tasty,fun and festive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Hi! I've been making a variation of this technique for many years. You may want to try this technique for a different look: Instead of piping the colored cake batter into the center of the cupcake as described, use a Tablespoon full of one color batter and place it in the cup. Then take another Tablespoon of batter and place it next or on top of the first one. Then take another color and do the same thing. Repeat until you reach the desired amount of batter in the cupcake holders. Finally, take a long wooden skewer (or similar), place it inside the batter and swirl the batter around a bit - just like you would if you were making a marble cake. This technique results in a "tie-dyed" look which is very retro and fun! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Fun to make and can be changed to fit any celebration or holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made mine with green on the outside and teal/blue in the centre. When i gave some to my neighbours they were so surprised to find such a colourful centre :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This worked really well! It was a nice surprise for those who ate it to see pink in the middle! I will definetly use this technique again! What a great idea. Next time I am going to try it with different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexInWonderland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made these for my son's Sunday school class and they loved them, even the teachers raved. What's great about these is I use them year round by alternating the colors. Really creative idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denisse2090
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Best cupcakes ever! Made a light blue version for my cousin's Baby Shower. Everyone got a pleasant surprise when they took a first bite. I just filled the tinted batter into snack sized ziplocs and made a small hole to fill the inside of the cupcakes. Only fill 1/2 way with the light batter and then fill the rest with the tinted colors. These will grow, so do not overfill!! I couldn't find the candy oil so I just added a bit of vanilla extract. Keep a close eye on them, in my oven they took a little less than recommended. Do not let them brown or crack, since that means they are overdone. They are delicious and very light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denisse2090

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
CLEVER!! Family is coming to visit and I knew the grandchildren would love these. They are very festive for our 4th of July celebration. Thanks Celeste for sharing such a clever technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by kjstrom
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
These cupcakes are so cute, fun and very easy to make. I couldn't find the flavored oil at any of my local grocery or craft stores, so following other reviewers' advice, I just added cherry flavored extract. What a waste: you couldn't even tell it was there. And I added a lot! I used a pastry bag and tip to make sure I got the colored batter all the way to the bottom. I iced them with "Wedding Cake Frosting" from this site using the colored swirl technique that Celeste described. They came out looking like they came straight from the bakery. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States