Sweetheart Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made these for st patricks day.I used one color(green) and flavored it with a bit of mint extract.It worked well made the cupcakes a bit more fun for the kiddos.will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Well, I didn't do a very good job on the first couple. They ended up being only one shade of green (for St. Patrick's Day) but I don't think I made the food coloring colors dark enough apart. Someone suggested put the tip all the way to the bottom before you squeeze the batter in, which I would definitely advise. It took me awhile to figure that out. Next time I will use icing tips to make them pretty! Despite them only being one color, they still turned out pretty neat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made green for St. Patrick's Day and instead of using the 3rd tinted cake batter, I made mint chocolate ganache for the center of the cupcakes. FABULOUS!! Ganache: 13 ounces heavy cream, 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate and 6 ounces Andes Mint Chips. In a sauce pan bring your cream to a light boil. Then pour in the chocolate and start stirring immediately. Keep going until you have a smooth mixture. Turn off your burner and set aside to cool. Once room temp, use in place of the 3rd tinted cake mix. I used this and store bought white icing piped together for the icing. The overall presentation wasn't near as well done as it could have been, but they really were great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Such a cute idea. Will change the colors for different holidays. Can't wait to make cupcakes for my son's birthday parties. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Not only were these fun to make, but they were delicious! Thank you for a fun and tasty recipe. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Great technique! I used Devil's food & Golden butter cake mixes for a black and white party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Evon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made these for a st pattys party and they were a major hit! I used mint extract for the green area flavoring instead of the raspberry which was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
these worked out great. i wanted to make 24 cupcakes but ran out of batter by about cupcake #12 so if you want a full batch make sure to use 2 packages of cake mix which will give you about 27 cupcakes in total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These were very good and fun to serve. I ran out of batter for the light pink, so most of mine were only two colors. Still a success though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This rating is based off of the total presentation of the recipe, not the taste. It tastes like a box cake, but I understood it would when I made these. They could always be made from scratch if you are willing to put in the extra work! I brought these to a superbowl party and everyone was impressed with how cute they were. With a great frosting and the beautiful presentation, a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States