Sweeter Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
This is a great basic muffin recipe. I have been using this same recipe for many, many years. It is very adaptable - add fruit, nuts or diced cooked bacon. Our favorite variation is Surprise Muffins. Put 1 tablespoon of batter into muffin tin, top with 1 teaspoon of jelly (strawberry or plum) then add batter to fill muffin tin 2/3 full. Bake as usual. The "surprise" is the jelly center! I love basic recipes that can be used again and again - and this is one of them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
This is the best recipe! I made this in my "Foods" class in high school (1996) and I have loved it ever since. As simple as the recipe is, I lost it and I haven't made it in a couple years- but I'm so glad I found it again! Thanks for posting the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
My son wanted a plain muffin so I tried these, I doubled the recipe and got 12 large muffins, I used melted butter for the oil, added a pinch of cinnamon and a splash of vanilla, I halved the sugar because I added a tsp of blueberry jam inside each muffin, very good, baked 20 mins at 350 in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 31, 2001
I used to always make these muffins. I lost the recipe, I'm so happy to have found it! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I was looking for a basic muffin recipe and I found it!! The first time I made them I followed the recipe exactly and they were good. The second time, I wanted to play around with it so I added a little vanilla extract and some chocolate chips and they were delicious! A big hit :D Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
GREAT muffins!! I only got 9 muffins from this recipe not 12, so next time, I might make a double batch. I served these with the honey butter recipe also found on this site. My husband had 3 of them with his dinner and my 5 year old ate 2 of them and was still asking for more! Thank you for this wonderful recipe, it will be a regular at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
My boys inhaled the whole batch of these muffins. My only complaints are that they stuck to the muffin tins and that it feels like I'm feeding the kids cake! If I could find a way to sneak in some nutritional value, they'd be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Simple and delicious! Good by themselves, better with sauces, jellies, or gravies. These work for both sweet and savory dishes! They also baked up nicely with eggBeaters, Splenda, 1% lowfat milk and unsweetened applesauce substitutes for the full-fat ingredients. A true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Made these for Grandpa's birthday. Grandpa is our cat. Yes, you read that right...I made muffins for the cat's birthday. She didn't get any, but my husband was happy to celebrate for her. Unfortunately, these simple muffins were not that tasty...just ok. I probably won't try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I rated these four stars because while they are very plain (with a hint of sweetness) they are actually a nice bread addition to a meal without stealing the limelight. We spread honey butter on ours and enjoyed them with dinner. For those wondering what they taste like...they taste very similar to corn bread, but less corny. But they are simply and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States