Sweetened Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
It was hard to get an even coating over the popcorn, even in my biggest pot. I ended up with about 2/3 of the popcorn with coating and the other 1/3 plain. The flavor was super sweet and once it cooled, had an unpleasant texture in the mouth. My 3 year old and I only had few pieces before looking for a different snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
My whole family loved this. So easy and so good! Great snack for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry, H
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Ahhhh! What can I say! I Loved it,I have been looking for a recipe and the only time I get this is once a year at the fair.I am glad I found it. I just popped my corn in butter and some salt,decreased sugar to 3/4 cup, added a tsp vanilla,and added food coloring also. just like the fairs,Yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry, H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
i have been looking for something like this for a while! it's great, i did not use the brown sugar, but did add the vanilla extract, and a bit of food coloring. also used regular popcorn. this recipe is a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Burnet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Oh, my, wasn't this just delicious. Very few ingredients needed, I made it just as stated and it turned out terrifically. I'll definitely add vanilla and brown sugar next time as previous reviewers have suggested. But it's great made just as it is. Mmm-MMM. Thanks for the recipe. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was fantastic and quick! I did add about 1/2 tsp vanilla to the sugar sauce. I also popped regular popcorn and then buttered & salted it to try to approximate buttered microwave popcorn. I then removed as many of the "old maids" I could find so we didn't go crunching down on them. I found that by putting the popcorn in a LARGE bowl the sauce seemed pretty evenly distributed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is great! Thanks -- I have been looking for this recipe for a year! The whole family loved it! It's not a sticky sort of popcorn treat and it's not quite like the hard-tack carmel corn. It's a sugary crispy texture that really is addicting. I agree that it is a little too sweet as written but we just added a lot more popcorn and it was perfect! I think you could put 9 cups or maybe even more with one batch of the syrup. We also used popcorn that's buttered & salted, and that makes a difference as well-- This recipe would be great with microwave popcorn. You can also put this over corn puffs (not the cereal -- the kind that are sold with the chips. They're like Cheetos without the cheese) and that makes a fun treat without all the choking hazards and hard pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Easy snack. I used both brown and white sugar,like others suggested, and popped into oven for 5-10 minutes. I doubled the recipe, but it was still devoured in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This tastes great don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
The flavor of this popcorn (using Splenda) was really nice, but I think I made an error in mixing the syrup and popcorn. I scooped the popcorn into the pot a little bit at a time which resulted in some very soggy pieces while others didn't get any coating at all. Next time I'll pour it all into a larger bowl to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States