Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Thank you for the recipe. My hubby is a diabetic and I am constantly searching for recipes I can convert using a non sugar sub., There are many recipes out there but you have to find how to convert the components like condensed milk so that you can make it for a diabetic to eat. Thank you for providing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This worked well in place of the canned I didn't have and saved me a trip out in the rain. I used a double boiler to prevent the burning issues, but was never able to bring the mix to a boil. It still cooked down and turned out fine. Learned hard way that canned milk is not 14 fluuid ounces and used too much of this in the recipe I was making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I made this sweetened condensed milk tonight when I was craving a cinnamon latte, and really didn't want to make that trip to Starbucks. This worked out great! Very easy and a lot less expensive than buying the can. I'm not sure if I will ever buy a can of it again because of how quick this recipe for it is, it would be silly not to make it instead. I didn't have the problem of this burning like some others, but I just made sure I stirred it constantly until it was thickened. Oh, and my latte turned out fabulous! Thanks for the recipe, Jeannie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
One reviewer said this burned while cooking and, even though I stirred it constantly while it cooked, it definitely burned for me too. I made a second batch in the microwave oven and timed and watched it very carefully so it wouldn't boil over. I zapped for 1 min., stirred zapped for 30 seconds, twice, stirred, then continued to zap until it boiled almost to the rim for 15 seconds. I did this for 5 times, stirring after each. Finally, I put it into my Bullet and blended it for about 50 seconds till it was totally smooth and exactly like the canned version. I'll make it this way from now on - it tastes like what I always bought before but is much cheaper to make. It actually takes less time to make it this way, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Wow! I can't believe that making sweetened condensed milk is so easy! I am so happy to have found this recipe. This is just like the real thing -- and so easy to make with handy ingredients. No more of those little cans for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This was a quick save for me. I was making Cheese Cake (my own recipe) and realized after everything else was added in that I only had 1 can of condensed milk. It did burn a little so next time I will probably turn down the heat and put in in a double broiler. It made the cheese cake richer and worked out great. Thanks Jeannie for the quick and easy recipe. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNSCOTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Great recipe for (almost) fat free sweetened condensed milk! It made a little more than 14 oz for me because I didn't stir it for the full 20 minutes. Even though I whisked it constantly, it still got a little burnt on the bottom. Next time I'll stir more vigorously and turn the heat down! Condensed milk costs $3.59 here, so this is definitely a money saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
PERFECT SUBSTITUTE! I was out of the normal canned sweetened condensed milk and used this recipe instead. It worked out wonderfully! I don't have a double broiler, so I filled a larger sauce pan 1/3 full of water; and took a slightly smaller saucepan and put it inside the larger one. In the smaller pan I sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray and put the ingredients in. I cooked in on medium heat - stirring often - for about 10-15 minutes. I didn't have ANY problems with this recipe whatsoever. It was an identical substitute. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Awesome! Saved me a trip to the grocery store on a rainy foggy evening. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excelent, this will save me a lot of money, and will make easier my confections without leaving home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States