Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
In Germany: Nestlé make condensed sweetened milk in tubes and cans under the brand "Milchmädchen". Kaufhof/Hertie/Walmart should stock it. I've never seen powdered milk here except on an army base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excelent, this will save me a lot of money, and will make easier my confections without leaving home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Awesome! Saved me a trip to the grocery store on a rainy foggy evening. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This recipe isn't too bad. It's hard to find sweetened condensed milk here in Germany, so I decided to make my own. I have made this several times on low heat and it has always turned dark brown, but so far it has worked in recipes that I've tried it in. I initially liked this recipe due to the simplicity of the ingredients, but it takes way too long to cook on stove top. I think next time I will try one of the non-cooking recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Flavor isn't very good. Tastes like dry milk, not regular sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
PERFECT SUBSTITUTE! I was out of the normal canned sweetened condensed milk and used this recipe instead. It worked out wonderfully! I don't have a double broiler, so I filled a larger sauce pan 1/3 full of water; and took a slightly smaller saucepan and put it inside the larger one. In the smaller pan I sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray and put the ingredients in. I cooked in on medium heat - stirring often - for about 10-15 minutes. I didn't have ANY problems with this recipe whatsoever. It was an identical substitute. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Great recipe for (almost) fat free sweetened condensed milk! It made a little more than 14 oz for me because I didn't stir it for the full 20 minutes. Even though I whisked it constantly, it still got a little burnt on the bottom. Next time I'll stir more vigorously and turn the heat down! Condensed milk costs $3.59 here, so this is definitely a money saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This was a quick save for me. I was making Cheese Cake (my own recipe) and realized after everything else was added in that I only had 1 can of condensed milk. It did burn a little so next time I will probably turn down the heat and put in in a double broiler. It made the cheese cake richer and worked out great. Thanks Jeannie for the quick and easy recipe. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
A good concept that needs refinement. I doubled the recipe and still it yielded barely the equivalent of a single can of Bordens. No mention was made of stirring during cooking. This is not only a good idea, it is down right critical. Plus, no mention is made of the initial cooking temperature. Keep it down a bit, stir constantly, and you should have good results. The flavor is just like Bordens. I mixed it with the can of Bordens I had on hand and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Wow! I can't believe that making sweetened condensed milk is so easy! I am so happy to have found this recipe. This is just like the real thing -- and so easy to make with handy ingredients. No more of those little cans for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States