Sweetened Condensed Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
In Germany: Nestlé make condensed sweetened milk in tubes and cans under the brand "Milchmädchen". Kaufhof/Hertie/Walmart should stock it. I've never seen powdered milk here except on an army base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Excelent, this will save me a lot of money, and will make easier my confections without leaving home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Awesome! Saved me a trip to the grocery store on a rainy foggy evening. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This recipe isn't too bad. It's hard to find sweetened condensed milk here in Germany, so I decided to make my own. I have made this several times on low heat and it has always turned dark brown, but so far it has worked in recipes that I've tried it in. I initially liked this recipe due to the simplicity of the ingredients, but it takes way too long to cook on stove top. I think next time I will try one of the non-cooking recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Flavor isn't very good. Tastes like dry milk, not regular sweetened condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
PERFECT SUBSTITUTE! I was out of the normal canned sweetened condensed milk and used this recipe instead. It worked out wonderfully! I don't have a double broiler, so I filled a larger sauce pan 1/3 full of water; and took a slightly smaller saucepan and put it inside the larger one. In the smaller pan I sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray and put the ingredients in. I cooked in on medium heat - stirring often - for about 10-15 minutes. I didn't have ANY problems with this recipe whatsoever. It was an identical substitute. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Great recipe for (almost) fat free sweetened condensed milk! It made a little more than 14 oz for me because I didn't stir it for the full 20 minutes. Even though I whisked it constantly, it still got a little burnt on the bottom. Next time I'll stir more vigorously and turn the heat down! Condensed milk costs $3.59 here, so this is definitely a money saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This was a quick save for me. I was making Cheese Cake (my own recipe) and realized after everything else was added in that I only had 1 can of condensed milk. It did burn a little so next time I will probably turn down the heat and put in in a double broiler. It made the cheese cake richer and worked out great. Thanks Jeannie for the quick and easy recipe. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
A good concept that needs refinement. I doubled the recipe and still it yielded barely the equivalent of a single can of Bordens. No mention was made of stirring during cooking. This is not only a good idea, it is down right critical. Plus, no mention is made of the initial cooking temperature. Keep it down a bit, stir constantly, and you should have good results. The flavor is just like Bordens. I mixed it with the can of Bordens I had on hand and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Wow! I can't believe that making sweetened condensed milk is so easy! I am so happy to have found this recipe. This is just like the real thing -- and so easy to make with handy ingredients. No more of those little cans for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Evaporated Milk

See why evaporated milk is such a tried-and-true staple of the pantry.

How to Scald Milk

Scald milk without film forming on the top or sugars sticking to the bottom.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States