Sweetbreads Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I grew up with the unspoken law of eat what is on your plate. Which didn't work in the case of sweet breads cuz I loved them pan fried like this recipe but my mother made a white gravy very similar to what is served with chicken fried steak. So I probably had a little of everyones share. Just recently I have found the mother load of a constant supply at a local meat market and the price per pound is less than a large cup of coffee at the local pit stop. I am in heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My Dad and I were the only ones in our family that would eat these. He would fry them up then we would pick one up with our fingers and dip in ketchup. They are very hard to find these days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WildWyo
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Look at all that sizzling yummy goodness. I've eaten sweetbreads all my life. I use basically the same recipe. White pepper, season salt, and garlic. I place spices and flour directly into a gallon ziplock baggie put the cleaned sweetbreads and shake um up good.(make sure its zipped up good) Less mess that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I've been a sweetbread lover all of my life. I prefer mine with a bit more batter because it holds the juices of the meat in better so they don't get dry. I season mine with salt & pepper before battering to bring out the flavor of the meat better. Roll in flour, dip in milk (or buttermilk for a thicker batter), then again in flour. I like to fry mine in a deep fryer for more even cooking. The secret with any frying is to make sure that your grease is hot enough to start frying immediately upon placing the item to be cooked in it so that you don't wind up with soggy, greasy food. Again....I LOVE sweetbreads!! One of my comfort foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocksprings, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is how my mother has always made Sweetbreads, though usually in larger pieces. Absolutely wonderful. I so wish it were easier to find sweetbreads so I could make them. I would have them regularly if I could actually find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I've never tried them this way, but it was good! I usually grill like so: First, bring them to a boil in a pot of water, turn down to a simmer and let cook for about 45 minutes on low. Take them out, cool, and slice into 1/2 inch slices. Heat a BBQ grill to high heat, place slices on the grill, and cook as you baste with BBQ sauce. We like them when they get crispy and a bit burnt, and then wrap them in tortillas w/more BBQ sauce. YUM! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Fantastic! my first taste of sweetbreads and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Love sweetbreads....very mild white meat...Actually folks closer to "it tastes like chicken" but better. I like to press mine after enitial parboiling to firm up.....1-2 mins. them press between pie plates ( cover with wrap please. and then just very lightly dust with flour and quick pan fry in butter. Don't muck around with it. just butter salt and pepper. Oh and do NOT overcook!!!!! most of the time mine just hit the pan with butter and then some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I have never tried making sweetbreads this way, I've only had them grilled. This was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powerpuff450

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
yummy. they are hard to find here might have to go to maumee on my next fishing trip. thanks for the info pops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States