Sweet-n-Sour Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I followed the recipe as given. It was well received. BUT I have to change things. Instead of the sweet and sour sauce, I use a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray Hickery and Brown Sugar BBQ sauce. I add an 8 ounce can of pinapple chunks with juice and about a 1/4 cup Port wine to rinse out the BBQ sauce bottle. And add liquid to cover if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I thought it was ok but wife didn't like it at all. Not good enough that would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Instead of a big dinner at Christmas, because there are sooo many of us we do appetizers! This was very good! I think when I make it again I will cut back on the red pepper flakes to please everyone's taste. The kids and the elderly thought it a bit spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shabbona, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Very good recipe where you can use what you have on hand.I used smoked sausages and spicy kielbasa. I did not have red currant jelly so I used a cup of homemade green grape jelly. Also did not have chili ketchup, so I used reg ketchup and spiced it up with a 1/4 cup homemade Thai sweet chili sauce with added 1/4 cup small frozen berries w/pomegranate in the pot ,but I omitted the water and the flakes since the Thai sweet chili sauce was spicy already.Added one finely diced red pepper for extra flavour. Also fried up the sausages like one of the reviewers said and it turned out fantastic. No leftovers and so glad I tried this with our roast dinner. The sweet sauce was great on the roast beef and on the mashed carrot/potatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Made this last night-It was great and the kids lovvved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I have been making this for years, and it's always the first to go. I use grape jelly, and I always brown the sliced kielbasa in a skillet to render some of the fat. A super simple winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Fine but nothing special. I'll stick to my bbq sauce and apple jelly for this type appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
PLEASE READ: I submitted this recipe, so perhaps l shouldn't rate it, esp because I just noticed that the amount (posted) of red pepp flakes SHOULD be 1 TEAS, NOT 1 TBLS! I like things w/a kick, but this is a recipe I serve to crowds (mult serv made) & not everyone likes things spicy....1 tsp is enough to give it a kick, w/out putting more sensitive pallets off....PLease try..Also, I've done s&s w/grape jelly before, & I feel the currant jelly makes a (good) difference...Lastly, my supermarket sells a variety of "grades" of kielbasa....Hillshire Farms is my (preferred) choice...Not super expensive, & the "really cheap stuff" just doesn't come out as well (& I'm always looking for a way to save a buck!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My family LOVED this!! So easy to just throw it all in the slow cooker. I did substitute tomato sauce for the chili sauce, but that is because I didn't have any on hand. Served it with a ranch dipping sauce. I will be making this a staple appetizer from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This couldn't have been more simple or more tasty! I did have to make some changes to the cooking time, as I wasn't watching the clock as closely as I should have been. I cooked covered on high for two hours, and then uncovered on high for one hour. I also used half the recommended pepper flakes and next time I might leave out the water. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States