Sweet and Tangy Thai Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I love this recipe! I use 1/4 c water and sugar and 1/2 c vinegar because I like the tartness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Tasty, cool, and refreshing for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This tasted just like the salad served in my favorite Thai restaurant! I loved it! I added some thinly sliced red bell pepper to mine and it made it not only colorful, but added some depth of flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herfel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very tasty salad! Easy to modify to your tastes, personally I use not quite a 1/2 cup sugar. If serving to kids, I use cider vinegar or rice wine vinegar for a more mild flavor. Delicious when paired with a very simple grilled white fish or with sandwiches instead of potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
First batch I too thought it was a little sweet. I made a second batch and followed recipe exactly but added a pinch of cayenne pepper. This took away some of the sweetness and gave it a little kick (not too much tho)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Very good and simple recipe. I used a little less sugar than called for, but that's just personal preference for less sweet dressing. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetemmy
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is amazing, just amazing! Simple, easy, quick, yet beautiful and delicious. If you can refrigerate longer than an hour it's better. Any changes are strictly preference. Personally, I added a little less sugar and included carrots with the cucumbers and red onions. I doubled the recipe, plus added about 4 medium carrots, and tripled the vinegar mixture. There was 10 of us and I had only a small amount left; seriously, it was the easiest thing I made for my dinner party and the most popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I've made this recipe but I also add fresh dill weed to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flying Wizard
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was a nice, easy and refreshing salad. I thought it was too sweet for my taste, so I will reduce the sugar next time. Also next time, I will experiment with adding herbs. I think dill will go with this quite well. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Delicious but the picture shows tomatoes, which I included. Either way I am sure it's a great refresher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States