Sweet and Tangy Thai Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I love this recipe! I use 1/4 c water and sugar and 1/2 c vinegar because I like the tartness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetemmy
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is amazing, just amazing! Simple, easy, quick, yet beautiful and delicious. If you can refrigerate longer than an hour it's better. Any changes are strictly preference. Personally, I added a little less sugar and included carrots with the cucumbers and red onions. I doubled the recipe, plus added about 4 medium carrots, and tripled the vinegar mixture. There was 10 of us and I had only a small amount left; seriously, it was the easiest thing I made for my dinner party and the most popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
First batch I too thought it was a little sweet. I made a second batch and followed recipe exactly but added a pinch of cayenne pepper. This took away some of the sweetness and gave it a little kick (not too much tho)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Very good and simple recipe. I used a little less sugar than called for, but that's just personal preference for less sweet dressing. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This tasted just like the salad served in my favorite Thai restaurant! I loved it! I added some thinly sliced red bell pepper to mine and it made it not only colorful, but added some depth of flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herfel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very tasty salad! Easy to modify to your tastes, personally I use not quite a 1/2 cup sugar. If serving to kids, I use cider vinegar or rice wine vinegar for a more mild flavor. Delicious when paired with a very simple grilled white fish or with sandwiches instead of potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Tasty, cool, and refreshing for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flying Wizard
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was a nice, easy and refreshing salad. I thought it was too sweet for my taste, so I will reduce the sugar next time. Also next time, I will experiment with adding herbs. I think dill will go with this quite well. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Delicious but the picture shows tomatoes, which I included. Either way I am sure it's a great refresher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I've made this recipe but I also add fresh dill weed to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States