Sweet and Tangy Slow Cooker Bar-B-Q Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Great new way to prepare Pork Ribs. After reading other reviews, I browned the ribs in the oven at 400 degrees for 10 minutes on each side to help reduce the fat content. This worked great as I had no fat anywhere left in the sauce at the end. I then replaced the ketchup with bbq sauce (don't like ketchup), reduced the water to 2 tablespoons. I didn't have any celery seed so elimated that along with the sliced onions and red bell pepper. I also rotated the ribs halfway through the cooking to make sure all were evening covered. My husband absolutely loved them (we had no leftovers!!) Thanks MITCH103 for a new and easy way to prepare bar-b-que pork ribs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Wow!! This is great. I made it last Sunday and my husband requested it again this weekend. He is telling everyone about it. What is great about the sauce is that it is slightly sweet and tangy and has the perfect spice to it as well. I use Frank's hot sauce which is tangy as well and quadruple the amount. I also substituted teriaki sauce instead of worcesthire (as my husband hates it). I didn't have celery seed and eliminated it. I do think it's better the same day. I pre-boiled my ribs to get rid of the fat and boy do you! It also cuts down on the cook time. I leave it on high for about 15-20 min and then turn to low for the remainder of 6 hours. Yummy! I did not feel that the onion and pepper overpowered the dish. One warning!! Make a double batch. It's so good that you will be disappointed if you don't. Also - You can use half the water. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I added a simple first step ... I boiled the ribs for 30 minutes ... that fat made its way to the top of the water and not into my slow cooker ... lots of ingredients here, but absolutely great flavor ... too easy not to do again ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Carrollton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
lord have mercy. Unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westmoreland, New York, USA
Living In: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This is the best tasting bbq sauce ever. I have done it with pork chops in a slow cooker, shredded pork, chicken. I can now just put the ingredience in without measuring and you can't mess it up. It seems like a lot of stuff but it takes no time to whip it up and pour it in. If your out of one of the spices it still comes out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I too noticed that this produced a lot of fat... It's pork afterall. After 8 hours, I took out the meat and shredded it. Removed the sauce and separated the fat. I threw all but the fat back in the cooker and let it marinate for 30 more minutes. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Absolutely AMAZING! This was my first time eating ribs, let alone making them and I think I'm hooked! This recipe must be great because my ribs had been shoved to the back on my freezer and were horrifically freezer burnt. They came out of the slow cooker falling apart, moist, and tasting amazing. I skipped the peppers/onions and had to use regular mustard when I realized I was out of dijon. I boiled the ribs for 30 minutes and didn't see an ounce of fat in my sauce when these were done. I cooked the ribs on high for 1 hour and on low for 5. Perfection! This is such a great recipe; I'll be recommending it to everyone! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe was fantastic. The meat was so tender it melted in your mouth. My husband and I really liked the sweet & tangy flavor. It was a nice change from the traditional barbecue sauce. This recipe is defintely a keeper. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Didn't change a thing it was perfect as is. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
i used bbq instead of ketchup because i can not even stand the smell of ketchup. this was very good! did not have to cook 8 hours tho, i only cooked 6 and it was perfect! (i did brown them on each side for 10 mins in the oven on 400 first, like an other reviewer recommended, and cut back on water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaseyB!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I've made this a couple of times and it's really tasty and easy. (I add a little cornstarch near the end to help thicken the sauce.) I leave out the bell pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie7

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States