Sweet and Tangy Sauteed Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
With the fact that we were used to have collard greens ALL the time in the southern style (smocked hocks or smocked turkey, etc.), I decided to give a try to this recipe. I read all the reviews and the sugested improvements... so I did my own. I did add garlic (3 cloves chopped) to the onions. I cooked the greens for 12 min instead and season them at that time. I change the butter for 1 1/2 tbs dark sesame oil and 1 1/2 tbs spicy HOT sesame oil. The result was a FANTASTIC side dish for my pan seared Tuna, and jasmin rice with dry shiitake mooshrooms. Rodrigouno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodrigouno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was my first encounter with collard greens (eating or cooking) and i was thrilled with the results! First time collard cooks might want to look up preparation instructions. I found a video on youtube and am glad i looked since i wouldn't have washed and cooked them properly otherwise. Don't eat the stems :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Absolutely delicious!! Didn't add butter to sauce, and thought it was much nicer, and lower in calories. Great use of collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
as an old white guy from the North taught by an old black woman from a tenement farm in Mississippi in how to cook and enjoy greens..you know with all the fatty body parts of the pig....and to find this that tastes as good and is a whole lot healthier...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Delicious and quick. I felt that the flavors were well balanced. I halved the recipe (approximately...) and I didn't think the dressing was too strong, loved the ginger flavor. My mother loved it too and she hates greens, which is saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4orange5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had extra collards I needed to use & thought this recipe sounded interesting. The dressing is superb, though as other reviewers suggested--I think you could omit the butter. This was a simple, very attractive & delicious recipe--thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Tasty! I didn't use the butter in the sauce, and I added a little garlic with the onions. This recipe made me want to go buy more collards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
My husband and I both like the recipe especially the dressing, but I will say that I don't think I cooked the greens enough as they were still hard to chew (be warned). I also used about 1/2 the butter, just because of the fat involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Very good Recipe. I added fresh garlic to my taste with the onions as they sauted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
i thought the ginger is too strong for greens that already have a pretty strong flavor. i liked the honey and vinegar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States