Sweet and Tangy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kim c
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Instead of frozen I went with the fresh green beans washed and trimmed in the bag. I used white wine vinegar instead of just plain white. I followed the other reviews who said there was too much vinegar and sugar, so I cut the vinegar to a 1/4 cup and sugar to 3 tbs. I also drained off some of the bacon grease to make it less fatty. Because the green beans were fresh and the reduced amount of liquid I steamed the green beans prior per the package instructions (4 -5 min). I rinsed the beans in cold water to keep them from cooking further. I then picked up where you add the green beans in the recipe and simmered for the 20 min. The green beans are perfectly cooked. They were tender but not mushy. A nice recipe when wanting something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
My family really enjoyed this. None was left and with green beans that does not happen much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Tasty easy to make dish. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Love this recipe! Has become a family favorite for the holidays. The first time I made these, the kids complained because of the vinegar smell while cooking. But once they tasted them, they said they were the best green beans they ever had. Now they ask for them every holiday meal! I cook a little more bacon then the recipe calls for. With men in the house, you can NEVER have too much bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
It sounds like these beans would be REALLY overpoweringly sweet and sour of made with that much sugar and vinegar! Wow! I use only 2 tablespoons of sugar and vinegar, and add about a teaspoon of salt as well as pepper. They're fantastic- I actually think about them if I know there are leftovers in the fridge. Also, I use a slightly different cooking method- cut the bacon into pieces with kitchen shears (you can do this right over the pan). Cook in frying pan. Remove bacon and add onions. Cook until tender. Add green beans, sugar, vinegar, salt and pepper. Cook until they're as done as you want (less than 5 minutes for us). Stir in the bacon. Yum! 5 stars prepared this way, 3 stars with the amount of sugar and vinegar stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I have made this recipe for years as "German Green Beans". It is a favorite. Since I use 3 cans of cut or whole green beans, I can see why others found this recipe too fatty or too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
My Best Friend Linda McLean suggested I try this. I LOVE vinegar but this is too much. Reduce the sugar a little and the vinegar more, add a clove of garlic and you have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I love this recipe. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I enjoy this recipe. I did cut back on the sugar & vinegar somewhat. I enjoy the flavor of using cider vinegar. Introduced to me many,many years ago by my former mother-in-law using canned french green bean. Still make this that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States